iPod touch 4G vs 3G RAM

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by cifang, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. cifang macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #1
    A few days ago, I upgraded my 3G model into a 4G model (it's white if that makes a difference), and I notice as soon as I use it, the retina display is gorgeous but at the same time the fps is staggering. So I download "Memory Manger Lite" on both, which I used to see how much free RAM I had on my 3G and I restarted both devices and cleared all cache/multitasking. I have around 254 MB RAM on the 3G and 219 is being used and 120 is available. It says 6% is inactive of that amount. On the 4G it has 248, 200 is being used and only 50-60 is available at a time completely fresh, 13% of that is inactive.

    Both devices are running iOS5. Is this normal? My memory runs out a lot faster on the 4G and the FPS drops quite a bit more. I suspect it's the retina display that takes up the memory, but I haven't found anything on that yet...

    Thanks.
     
  2. thunderboltmac macrumors member

    thunderboltmac

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    sudo
    #2
    how many apps are open???

    how many apps are open on both devices? perhaps there are more apps open on the 4g? try closing all apps on both devices and see the difference.
     
  3. cifang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #3
    Uh, I stated that I did everything to make them the same =( So no luck.
     
  4. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    Odd its like that on my iPod touch 4. But free memory is wasted memory. Highest I've gotten is about 131mb on iOS 4.3.5. On iOS 5 highest was about 126mb.
     
  5. goosnarrggh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #5
    Of course, the iPod touch uses an embedded (rather than discrete) graphics accelerator, so it definitely will "borrow" some of your system RAM to use as video RAM. And a larger display resolution will likely result in larger video RAM requirements.

    As well, the iPod touch 4 always has to be ready to potentially receive an incoming Facetime call, whereas an iPod touch 3 cannot do Facetime and therefore wouldn't even need to load the Facetime-related system software.

    There are likely other differences between the two devices which would reduce the idle memory requirements of one versus the other.
     
  6. AWallen90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #6
    The screen resolution has doubled, which means there are 4 times as many pixels. Seems normal that it would not allow as much free ram. The 3G might have been the most powerful iPod touch based on the specs, same ram with a processor that uses the same structure as the A4, and it is only powering 25% as many pixels.

    My opinion is specs based as I have never owned a 3g or 4g iPod touch.
     
  7. cifang thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    #7
    I disabled facetime to free up RAM, but still a little disappointed it's overall more sputtery than my 3G. The processor does do it's job though.
     
  8. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Disable All things for spotlight to if you don't use it. Speeds it up a tat.
     

Share This Page