iPod touch 4th Gen not recognized

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by im_to_hyper, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. im_to_hyper macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #1
    I have an iPod touch 4th Gen - 8GB model.

    - It was working fine today. I went to reset it and it would simply not reset.
    - Then it finally got stuck at the "connect to iTunes" screen.
    - Plugged it into a Mac. Nothing.
    - Plugged it into a Windows PC. Not recognized.
    - Tried DFU mode - it will go into DFU, but then still isn't being detected by Windows.

    Anyone have any thoughts?
     
  2. mangomind macrumors 6502a

    mangomind

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #2
    Doesn't seem like a hardware failure if a software reset caused the problem. And if you can't restore the software, I have no idea. I would have an Apple Store look at it.
     
  3. im_to_hyper thread starter macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #3
    That's what I was worried about :-/ Its too old
     
  4. mangomind macrumors 6502a

    mangomind

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #4
    What do you mean by 'it's too old?'

    I would take it to an Apple Store, and they may be able to fix it right there, especially if it's not a hardware problem.
     
  5. citivolus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #5
    have you tried any apps other than iTunes (e.g. Tiny Umbrella, RedSn0W, iFunBox) to confirm that they even see the iPod?

    does the iPod show that it is charging when plugged into the computer?
     
  6. im_to_hyper thread starter macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #6
    I mean that its an iPod touch 4th gen out of warranty - so even though they may be able to fix it -- it may not be worth it.
     
  7. LMC91, Jan 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2015

    LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #7
    Hey, I'm not sure if my method can help, but something similar to this has happened to me twice before and couldn't find anyway of fixing it apart from what I've done below, so it's worth a try, and I was also on an iPod Touch 4G. This has allowed me to SSH into my iPod Touch and pull out any files I needed, even app/game saves, when I was in a Recovery Loop and couldn't use my iPod. After the instructions and go through the repair, I then used Tiny Umbrella to kick the iPod out of the Loop. You have to follow this in order for Tiny Umbrella to work as it does a repair.

    I also did this on Windows, not sure about Mac, so you might want to do it on that.

    Download Putty:
    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

    Download WinSCP:
    http://winscp.net/eng/download.php

    Download SSH_RD_Rev03B.jar:
    http://www.sinfuliphone.com/showthread.php?p=781514
    In that link it mentions about needing to install 'JRE-7-Windows-i586-iftw.exe' for it to work, but you can try without it to see if it works.

    Follow the instructions here to get access into your iPod:
    https://github.com/msftguy/ssh-rd/wiki/Windows-How-To

    If /mnt2 doesn’t show, restart the instructions for Putty, and after typing in the root and password, (before typing ‘mount.sh’), enter in:

    fsck_hfs -r /dev/disk0s1s2

    It will go through a repair, wait till it’s done, and mnt2 should work. It seems to me once you get mnt2 to show in the folders, use Tiny Umbrella to see if it will kick you out of the recovery. Good luck.
     
  8. im_to_hyper thread starter macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #8
    Thank you!!

    I am sure this I'll prove to be helpful and useful someday soon for someone! However, in my specific case I can't even get it to recognize the device or install a driver. :-/

     
  9. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #9
    Ah, that's not good, did you try go through the steps anyway just in case it did recognise it? I was gonna say try another cable, which you can do if you know someone with one to try, but it does seem to be the iPod when reading your first post. I'd try looking around online to see if someone else managed to get their device recognised when they couldn't before, even search for iPhone too as a lot of solutions can apply to both, then you can try my steps again. Hopefully you find something.
     

Share This Page