iPod Touch 4th Gen RAM and the iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Don Kosak, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

    Don Kosak

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    #1
    Well, the teardown has spilled the beans, the iPod Touch 4th Gen. has the same amount of RAM as the iPAD.

    I think this is great news for iPad owners. Developers wanting to target new devices will have to take the 256MB RAM spec as a guide post to optimize for.

    I was a little concerned when the iPhone 4 came out with 512mb that folks would start writing memory hungry apps, and make the iPad 1st Gen obsolete within a year.

    Now, I feel the 1st Gen iPad has just gotten an extra 1-2 years of solid App support on top of the 1-2 years it already had.

    As a developer, even using Open GL, the big bottleneck is the CPU and network latency. RAM is hardly ever an issue, unless you have a nasty leak. 256MB is a reasonable number to work with.

    Remember, the Sony PlayStation 3 has 256MB of RAM, and that hasn't had much impact on the quality of software you see for it.

    In a year or so, I'm sure we'll see more 512MB iOS devices -- but for now, 256 RAM seems to be the prime memory watermark. And our iPads are right there.
     
  2. EssentialParado macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    #2
    Veery good post, Dan.

    Hopefully it will alleviate some of the illogical attention toward 256 vs 512.
     
  3. lozpop macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    #3
    Really a good news! Apps won't want 512 MB required.:D
     
  4. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #4
    Thanks Dan. For all the logic of your post, some will still come here and complain about the supposed lack of ram.
     
  5. stordoff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #5
    I've presumed all along that the extra RAM in the iPhone is to cover the overheads of it being a phone. This pretty much confirms it for me.
     

Share This Page