iPod touch 6th Generation No Longer Has Loop

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by cswee7311, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. cswee7311 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    #1
    Noticed this randomly since I left the Apple Store app open. Not sure if anyone else noticed yet.

    ipod-touch-2015-gallery1.jpeg ipod-touch-2015-gallery1.jpeg
     
  2. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    I didn't, but good catch. I never stuck mine on, and the thing popping up bothered me.
     
  3. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    Can't say that I'm sorry to see that go.
     
  4. Andres Cantu macrumors 68030

    Andres Cantu

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Rio Grande Valley in South Texas
    #4
    They probably wanted to save money by not making loops with new colors. Besides, I'm pretty sure most people would have rather had Apple include everything that this iPod touch has instead of (for example) an A7 chip with the loop.
     
  5. ackmondual macrumors 6502a

    ackmondual

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Location:
    U.S.A., Earth
    #5
    The loop nub on my IpT5 is broken, and VERY DIFFICULT to get into the open position. I'd be concerned, except I've never used it except the first day just to try it out.
     
  6. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #6
    I guess it can be quite handy, but in all honesty I have never used it on the 5G personally.
     
  7. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #7
    The loop was too thick and the device was too thin. The iPod would have hit the floor with or without it. It wouldn't have looked as elegant, but the typical piece of thick string they give you with cameras, and a better hook would have worked much better.
     
  8. raccoonboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    #8
    I wish they also make the dedicated Ipod touch case like they did with the Iphone line. It would probably sell better than the loop. Guess apple still has those abundant in their storage.
     
  9. uid15 Suspended

    uid15

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    #9
    That silly "loop" caused more accidents than it prevented, when you accidentally caught it on your thumb as you reach across your desk, and cause it to be flung across the room onto the floor. Good idea in theory, poorly executed, oh - and the price to replace it... what a joke.
     
  10. Reno Raines macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    #10
    Never used mine as I think it looked bad.
     
  11. OTACORB macrumors 6502a

    OTACORB

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central, Louisiana
    #11
    I hate it and glad its gone! Now if Speck would just make a updated grip case for it without the stupid loop hole.
     
  12. FeliApple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #12
    I have my iPod Touch 5G, bought it on 2012, and used it once. Bad implemented, imo, I had to paste back the strap because the two parts at the end that goes on the iPod got separated.
     
  13. tom123 macrumors regular

    tom123

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #13
    They took it away to give the speaker more base !
     
  14. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #14
    The sound on the iPod Touch 6 is much better than the 5. By removing the loopy hardware Apple was able to improved it.
     
  15. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #15
    glad they got rid of it, never used it and opted for the powersupport air jacket that didnt have the cutout for it (as opposed to their other option that had the cutout) and im glad since i now use the old case with the new touch
     

Share This Page