iPod Touch as home phone

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by sammyman, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #1
    Would it be possible to use an ipod touch as a home phone device with the new fring app? What are your thoughts?
     
  2. pismodude2 macrumors 6502a

    pismodude2

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #2
    If you want to make having a home phone a living hell, then yeah :mad:.

    Fring is good for showing off and maybe to save money in the right circumstances, but overall the voice quality is not that good and the delay drives me insane! Keep your home phone or get an actual Skype/VoIP phone.
     
  3. thomahawk macrumors 6502a

    thomahawk

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #3
    or just download skype and stuff on your computer or some other VOIP program and use that as a home phone(ish)
     
  4. pismodude2 macrumors 6502a

    pismodude2

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #4
    Yeah, I did that with my bluetooth headphones. Works great!
     
  5. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #5
    How would that be different than using fring/skype on an ipod touch?
     
  6. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    I assume u have one of the new ipod touches? otherwise how would you know when it rung if its the 1st generation lol
     
  7. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #7
    Yes it is a new touch. What was the difference between the 1st gen and 2nd that would allow me to know when it rings?
     
  8. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    The built in speaker, perhaps? Only the 2nd gen has one.
     
  9. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #9
    yep what he said, 1st ipod has no external speaker so you would miss calls if you didn't have ear phones in
     
  10. sammyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #10
    That makes sense. I still don't see why skype would be better on a computer than on fring on an ipod touch? Seems like it would be the same thing....
     
  11. pismodude2 macrumors 6502a

    pismodude2

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #11
    The iPod Touch is slower on Wi-Fi than a computer, and the app seems buggy (bad quality, occasional crashes).
     
  12. ChristopheJD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #12
    First of all, don't you want to use the iPod while its at home too? You need to have Fring open the whole time. The iPod doesn't really multitask. Plus, Fring's VoIP capabilities should only be used casually, not as a dedicated home VoIP phone. Just use your computer if that's what you want.

    EDIT: You have an iPhone already! No point in buying an iPod for VoIP...
     

Share This Page