iPod touch connection Issue

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by modocc, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. modocc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #1
    I bought an Ipod touch for my daughter for Xmas and I am trying to set it up for her before we wrap it.
    It can see my home network and even connect to it (with a little check beside it) but under DHCP there is no update on the IP and when I try to renew the lease it doesnt give me anything. Same thing with Forgetting network. I have tried to reset router, modem and even removed encryption from router.

    I have tried everything I know to do. I even reset the Ipod. When I look at my routers DHCP client table her Ipod shows up with an IP of 192.168.1.102 but when you look at the Ipod there are no numbers next to the Ip Address, Subnet Mask, Router or DNS. Any ideas?
     
  2. pilotrtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #2
    What kind of network do you have at home? WEP? WPA? It may have something to do with that. I've read on these boards that one type of network works for some while the same one doesn't work for others.
     
  3. modocc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #3
    I have no encryption on it right now that is what WEP or WAP is.
     
  4. TraceyS/FL macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #4
    Try this for kicks:

    Settings -> General -> Reset -> Reset Network Settings

    Something might just be funked on it and it might work after that.

    Otherwise, if you can do it without her finding out right now - give Apple a call on the phone. Better to do it now than after Christmas. And, on the off chance there is a hardware problem you can get it sorted out before the big day.
     
  5. killer971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    #5
    you need to add the ip to your router I had the same problem
     
  6. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #6
    The last post is only applicable if you have hardware address filtering. Devices on the network have unique hardware IDs which allow the network admin to limit the access that those devices have. I would suggest trying to access a WiFi connection from a verifiable location, such as a public WiFi hotspot, an Apple Store, etc.; that will tell you whether the issue follows the iPod touch or is something unique to your home network.
     
  7. modocc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #7
    Ok well I took it to my shop and it hooked up to the internet automatically, with no problems and easy as pie.

    Talk about frustrating.
     
  8. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    What kind of router do you have? Netgear, Linksys? Is this a modem/router combo like a 2Wire?
     

Share This Page