Ipod touch dilemma

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Dytoonn, Sep 28, 2008.

1. Dytoonn macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I know there are already some topics about this 'issue' but I haven't found a solution yet. I also think my problem is slightly different.

So, here's the thing: I live in Belgium,E urope, and I have the possibility buying an ipod touch in the USA. (Here we pay around 219€ (=320 USD) for the 8gb version, and 279€ (=408 USD) for the 16gb version.)

So basically, when I buy an ipod touch in the USA it only costs me 156€ (=229 USD) for the 8gb version, or 204€ (=299 USD) for the 16 gb version. So I have on both models a profit of approximately 70€ (=102 USD).

I'm a student so you all need to know buying an ipod touch costs me a lot of my 'savings'. I have about 6gb music, and a lot of movies. Now I have a rubbish 1gb mp3-player, so I really can't imagine that 8gb won't be enough. To me, it sounds like a lot of space. But once you're putting movies onto it, I know 8gb isn't that much.

So basically the question is: Is this 48€ (70USD) worth the 8gb extra space, even when I'm not sure if I need it?
    I mean, for that money I almost could buy an old iphone 8gb! Unfortunately the Iphone 3g became way to expensive and almost impossible to buy for a 'foreigner'...

I hope you took the time to read the whole text, because it may be a bit confusing since my English isn't that tremendous. ;)

2. 4DThinker macrumors 68020

I've got an 8gb Touch, and find it's has enough memory to keep a few videos, much of my Music collection, and 6 apps with still room to spare. However the App store can get to be a little addictive, and if you're intending on collecting every free an many paid apps available you'll need the 16gb version no question. The new 16gb model sells for the same price that the old 8gb model used to sell for. Worth it.

3. gan6660 macrumors 65816

gan6660