iPod touch doesn't show on desktop

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by scotty96LSC, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. scotty96LSC macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    Not that this is a big deal, but my iPod touch doesn't show an icon on my desktop. It also doesn't automatically open iTunes. I have my finder set to display cds, dvds, iPods on the desktop. I have iTunes set to open when it detects my iPod touch but it doesn't open till I physically open iTunes. Any thoughts?:confused:
     
  2. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #2
    There should be an option on the iPod summary page in iTunes that states "Open iTunes when iPod is connected" - is that set?

    Also, Apple has not allowed the iPod touch to act as a flash drive (without 3rd party software), thus I don't think it should be showing up on the desktop.

    All the best.
     
  3. scotty96LSC thread starter macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  4. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #4
    I just bought an iPod touch... mine doesn't show on the desktop either even if its set to 'manually manage music'. I don't think its meant to.
     
  5. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #5
    The touch doesn't mount as a drive like the other ipods do. It is not set up to be used as a drive as others have stated. You can only see it via iTunes. Also, since it doesn't mount, you dont have to "eject" it before unplugging it.
     
  6. marykay9507 macrumors 6502a

    marykay9507

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #6
    Make sure your usb port is 2.0-- My iPod will not show up on one port, but if I move it to the other it does-- asked at the Apple store why this is and they suggested this as an answer.
     
  7. scotty96LSC thread starter macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  8. marykay9507 macrumors 6502a

    marykay9507

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #8

    my bad-- didn't see what computer you were using! sorry!
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    I doubt your Touch shows up in Finder though, unless you are using some hack ;)
     
  10. Ubuntu macrumors 68000

    Ubuntu

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #10
    He may have meant iTunes. ;)
     
  11. scotty96LSC thread starter macrumors 65816

    scotty96LSC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Ok, not showing up on the desktop makes sense, but what doesn't make sense is the iPod touch not opening up iTunes when it is set to do so.

    No biggie.
     
  12. Topher15 macrumors 6502a

    Topher15

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Can someone confirm this? I've been clicking the eject button. This would save time.
     
  13. sbrokaw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    #13
    I realize this answer comes a bit late...but I figure I post it anyways.

    I too was trying to figure out why my itouch wasn't showing up in finder...the disk mounting issue seems to be the problem here. However, I did find a fix for opening itunes once the ipod is plugged in.

    Turns out if you uncheck the option "Open iTunes when this iPod is attached" apply and then recheck and apply, iTunes will prompt you to install iTunes Helper, which should solve all of your automatic launching problems.

    Enjoy!
     
  14. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    Yes, you just can't disconnect during the sync or there'll be trouble. As long as iTunes shows 'iPod Sync is Complete -- OK to disconnect' and/or your Touch doesn't say 'Sync in Progress', you can just disconnect it -- you don't need to click the 'eject' icon next to the Touch in iTunes.
     
  15. bdellasc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #15
    One or more of my USB devices...

    I've been struggling for the past week with neither my iPod Shuffle or 5th Gen iPod video showing up in the finder or iTunes on my new Mac Pro. Needless to say, its been MADDENING!

    I got it to synch once, but not since then. I've gone thru the "5 Rs", swapped dock cables, tried all USB ports, Downgraded from 10.5.7 to 10.5.4, then 10.5.5, then 10.5.6, all with the same result - no iPod recognition.

    Both iPods would recognize on my old dual G4, no problem...

    Then this morning, I pulled out my old 2nd gen iPod and plugged it in to charge it for a few minutes. Once it had enough juice to run on its own, I plugged it into the FW port and it was recognized immediately.

    OK, so that meant there was something going on in the USB side of things. So, I unplugged everything but my keyboard and mouse from my USB ports, plugged the iPod shuffle into another port, and IT WAS RECOGNIZED! It just finished synching...

    So, my next step will be to add one thing at a time back to the USB side until I have a problem again. Its gotta to be something drawing too much power or something off the USB ports.

    I'll post again once I figure it out. I may have to do a little creative reconfiguring with my powered hubs to help take the burden off the computer...
     
  16. bdellasc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #16
    5G iPod Video Also Synched

    I was also able to synch my 5G iPod Video without any problems only having the keyboard and mouse plugged in. Once I figure out what was causing the conflict, I'll post again.
     

Share This Page