iPod touch is a PDA (according to BtOpenzone)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by tucker61, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. tucker61 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #1
    Today I tried to access free wifi at a Roadchef service station, when I opened safari I got a btopenzone/o2 screen asking for my o2 mobile number.
    I do not have a o2 number, and could not see how to access the site any other way so I phoned the btopenzone support line. I explained about the ipod touch and it looked like the system thought it was a iPhone and then it got confusing.

    Operator Quote"so you have a iPhone"
    Me "no, it is like the iPhone but without the phone"
    Operator "oh right it is a PDA isn't it"
    Me "no it is a iPod touch"
    Operator "no our support files say it is a PDA, and PDA's are not compatible on our system so we cannot help you"
    Me - "so are you saying I cannot use the free wifi you are advertising all over the service station"
    Operator "yes that's right it does not work on PDA's"


    What is the point of free wifi but only for selected devices...
     
  2. dasikes macrumors 6502a

    dasikes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #2
    That's... dumb.
     
  3. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #3
    OK... I have no idea about UK but.... why should O2 give you free Wi-Fi when you're not paying them a penny??? And in a crude way, that tech support guy is correct in saying that its a PDA. (Actually Apple itself has regarded the iPod touch as a 'Wireless Platform'!
     
  4. tucker61 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #4
    So if I use my laptop I can log on and get free access. if I use my iPod touch it will not work
     
  5. dasikes macrumors 6502a

    dasikes

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #5
    hence it being ridiculous. What's their reasoning for not allowing PDAs?
     
  6. muldul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Sussex, England, UK
    #6
    Very very odd, i use it all the time, i just give my BT address as i use them at home
     
  7. 4DThinker macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #7
    It's only free in exchange for your phone number. They obviously find value in knowing your number, and are willing to exchange some wifi for it.
     

Share This Page