iPod touch is crap.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by tonyr6, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. tonyr6 macrumors 6502a

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #1
    September will be rolling along and they better announce a new touch or I will getting the new iPhone contract and all.

    All this white pos iPod touch 4g does is crash all because apple in its dumb idea decided to only put 256 mb of ram and then decided to force iOS 5 which all it does is eat up ram.

    Come on all I stinking have open is the DI.fm Radio app and then I browse I'm Safari and even mobile sites crash. Now what makes me want to throw this pos in the garbage is all I was doing was listening to the DI.fm app and just moving some of my apps into folders and because of the pitiful amount of ram and iOS 5 springboard crashed and no this pos is not jailbroken.
     
  2. CodeCavalier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #2
    I totally hear you, man. My old 3G is a brick.

    I had an iPhone 3G and upgraded to a 4. So then, I decided to let my daughter have the old 3G. Hey, even if it didn't have cell service, it would still make a great MP3 player, right? Not really.

    Boy, was I sorry, I had been keeping the old phone "updated" because eventually, it became so bogged down with iOS updates that it would barely work any longer. I thought maybe I could get the 3G restored back to its factory state, so I tried to wipe the iPhone using iTunes, but that didn't really seem to work right. The phone was still slow and laggy. It eventually got to a point where it wouldn't play video games any more that it used to be able to play just fine. And then, it became laggy just going into iPod.

    There's nothing physically wrong with the unit. I even replaced the aging battery with a brand new one. But it's virtually unusable because there is no level of compatible software for it available. The current iOS is too sophisticated to run on it, and none of the apps are compatible with old versions of iOS, anyway.

    Basically, it's a (smallish) BRICK that can still turn on/off.

    I'm not enough of a geek to know how to jailbreak it, or to know if doing so would even be worth it. I can't think of any possible way an iPhone 3 could possibly be expected to be useful using only "approved" software.

    Pretty stupid. Somehow I feel cheated out of the $250 I paid for that thing originally. I should have got a pro-rated discount on what I paid to upgrade to the newer phone. There should be some sort of regulation to protect consumers against rapid obsolescence of expensive products.
     
  3. Redjericho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #3
    Imagine how iPad 1 users felt, same RAM (256mb), huge screen.

    I don't have an iPod touch, and I will buy a 5 if it comes out, but I will not be buying a 4.
     
  4. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    I have a 3rd gen 64Gig Touch (latest IOS) and it is still running great. I will however probably get the new one when it comes out.
     
  5. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #5
    Have you gone through and closed everything from the multitasking bar?

    Double click the home button, tap and hold an icon, and click the red "X" on each application. This won't delete it, just completely close it.
     
  6. tonyr6 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #6
    Everything is closed. I also use System Status and I am always freeing up memory. No it is the cruddy amount of ram and iOS 5. Sorry about venting in the post I was just ticked off listing to A State of Trance and all I was doing was organizing and moving some apps around and then the screen goes black and the spinning wheel shows up. Lets just say I was really ticked off.

    Even some browser apps I deleted because they are nothing but a lag fest. Scroll wait a second then it scrolls etc.
     
  7. sracer macrumors 603

    sracer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Bongos and Beatniks
    #7
    Sounds more like some part of the internals may have become damaged (such as a bank of RAM, location of flash storage, etc.) than something inherent in running iOS 5.
     
  8. NuggetSauce macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #8
    If you think the iPod touch is crap, then get an android MP3/App device like the Samsung Galaxy Player, and see if you're happy with that.

    I'm unhappy with my android smartphone and regret selling my iPod touch to fund it.
     
  9. Mak47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    #9
    So, just to clarify...

    If Apple doesn't put out an improved version of the iPod Touch, you plan on punishing them by purchasing a device that they make three times as much money on.

    Your logic in product choices is sound, the iPhone as it stands today is a much better product than the iPod Touch. However, I don't think your statement is particularly motivational toward improving the iPod.
     
  10. coolguy879 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #10
    I have an iPod touch 3G (64 GB) with iOS 5.1.1 (latest) and it works fine. I think you should just sell the white one and get a black iPod touch 4G because then the default OS would be iOS 4x.
     
  11. davidinva macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, USA
    #11
    I have a 3rd gen 32 GB iPod running 5.1.1 and have no problems. I have an iPad and use the primarily for listening to music and podcasts while driving. However, I am starting to use the iPad for podcasts. I may buy a 5th generation for the convenience of carrying it.
     
  12. tonyr6 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #12
    The thing is that I don't have any major problems unless I stress it. This is only the third time SpringBoard crashed since using iOS 5. I was just really ticked off which is why I posted this. I did reboot my device after the SpringBoard crash though.

    What bothers me though is that I keep my iPod Touch in my speaker dock most of the time streaming the Di.fm App, AOL Radio and TuneIn Radio Pro when it runs fine it is when I am using it as a portable I surf using Safari, App Store, Amazon app while streaming the Di.fm app. I know the Di.fm app uses a lot of memory.

    What bothers me is that when Apple released this thing in 2010 they should have put 512 MB of RAM. I don't care about the 0.8 MP camera as I rather take pictures with a real digital camera. Also the A4 processor is not much of a big deal as it is the same in the iPhone 4 it is just the lack of RAM. Too bad Apple in there dumb wisdom make it that you can't upgrade the RAM.
     
  13. Giminoshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    #13
    I have a 32 GB, iPod touch 3rd Gen. It was 5.1.1 and runs perfectly. I've even jail broken it before, and then un-jail broken it.. Or however you'd say it. It works just like it did when I first got it.

    It sounds like the problems that some users are having with their devices are rare, and should be under warranty. Try getting a replacement. Not all iPod touches are crap. Sorry yours is defected.
     

Share This Page