iPod touch is iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by And004, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. And004 macrumors newbie

    And004

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #1
    I had plugged my iPod touch to my laptop. When iTunes opened, an error came up.

    [​IMG]

    Now it is reading it as an iPhone. What should I do?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Put the phone into DFU mode or Recovery mode, and restore it in iTunes.
     
  3. And004 thread starter macrumors newbie

    And004

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #3
    I restored it twice but it sill says my iPod is an iPhone. Any other things i could do?
     
  4. ZuneMan? macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Apple Store
    #4
    Maybe you bought the iphone and forgot and thought it was a iPod Touch. :cool:
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    why not take it to the Apple Store and let them look at it? How long have you had it? Has it ever worked?
     
  6. Lukeyboy01 macrumors regular

    Lukeyboy01

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    print that screenshot and take it and your itouch to an applestore
     
  7. womble2k2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Looks like it has iPhone firmware on it. Did you upgrade to OS 3.0?

    Or you could try: Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button on top of iPod touch for a few seconds until a red slider appears, then drag the slider. Then press and hold the Sleep/Wake button until the Apple logo appears.

    Phil
     
  8. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #8
    Have you been setting it up as a new phone or restoring from a backup?
     
  9. iPhone 62S macrumors 6502a

    iPhone 62S

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    #9
    When you put it into DFU mode and plug it into the laptop (I assume this is how you are restoring it as it won't connect normally) does it still come up as a iPhone? If so, you'll need to get the 3.0 iPod touch firmware manually if you are indeed installing the iPhone firmware.

    Is it like a normal iPod touch when you use it though? I don't see how the iPhone firmware would get onto your iPod...
     
  10. And004 thread starter macrumors newbie

    And004

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #10
    I took it to Apple today and they told me to reinstall iTunes. Well I did, but when I plugged it in the error didn't show up. Instead, it reads it as an iPhone. My iPod touch is updated. What should I do now?
     

Share This Page