iPod Touch mounting

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ThirteenXIII, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    I'm just curious does the iPod Touch only mount in iTunes now instead of in the finder,desktop,disk utility?


    thanks!
     
  2. opivy1218 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #2
    It will only show up in itunes.
    It does not show up in finder, disc utility, or on the desktop because it has no disk space such as previous ipods.
     
  3. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    to backup above post the touch has ram disks and not a hard drive so there for its not seen as a hard drive
     
  4. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #4
    It doesn't show up on the Desktop, but not for the reasons stated above. It doesn't because Apple designed it that way. The shuffle and other RAM-based iPods can be mounted to the Desktop.

    This thread is a candidate for the "most amusing thread titles" thread. I know some people really love their iPods...
     
  5. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #5
    No, incorrect. At the moment the only hard-drive based iPods have been the classic and the iPod mini. The iPod nano, shuffle AND touch all use flash memory, and yet the nano and shuffle allow disk use. RAM is a totally different matter; flash and hard-drives physically store information, while once the power supply to RAM is disconnected it loses all of it's memory. If any type of music player used RAM as it's main storage medium, it would erase all your data every time you turned it off.

    The relatively small amount of RAM in iPods acts in the same way as it does in a computer; it allows you to perform several tasks at once (browsing through menus while listening to music, playing games, etc) without freezing up. That's why you hear of Safari on the iPod touch crashing sometimes; because the RAM in the iPod cannot handle the amount of data on the website you are attempting to view, so it quits the app to free up memory.

    So to give you a proper answer to the question, the fact that the iPod touch does not mount on the desktop has nothing to do with the way data is stored on it. It is because Apple has just chosen to take the "enable disk use" option out of it; possibly to stop unauthorized code from being put on it (in other words, if everyone had access to it's disk, jailbreaking would get a hell of a lot easier).
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  7. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    This isn't true, both the old nano and shuffles have been able to be seen on the desktop as exterior drives, as those iPods allowed the option to be external drives. You probably had your old (or other iPod) set up to be used as an external disk and thus saw it on your desktop, but as the iPod touch doesn't have that option, it won't show up on the desktop.
     

Share This Page