ipod touch not recognized on any computer

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jimmyjam88, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. jimmyjam88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    i have just updated my ipod touch from 1.1.2 to 1.1.4 and now it is not recognized by itunes. i have tried multiple ports on both my mac and pc.

    itunes will auto-start, and my ipod charges, but does not show in itunes or finder.

    i went to my console messages and i recieve:

    7/12/08 9:32:56 PM 0x0-0x29029.com.apple.iTunes393 MobileDevice: send_message: Could not send message size: Broken pipe

    and

    7/12/08 9:32:56 PM 0x0-0x29029.com.apple.iTunes393 MobileDevice: receive_message: Could not receive size of message: -1 Bad file descriptor

    and

    7/12/08 9:33:02 PM 0x0-0x29029.com.apple.iTunes393 MobileDevice: AMDeviceCopyValue: There was an error getting the value from lockdown

    i have restarted everything and reinstalled itunes, but nothing is working. any suggestions?
     
  2. itzdemo macrumors regular

    itzdemo

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #2

    have you pluged it into the computer ? then tried the steps to restore it with itunes ?
     
  3. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #3
    i have plugged it into my mac and pc, but i can not restore through itunes because itunes does not see it.

    i have restored throught the ipod menu, but no improvement.
     
  4. Packersfan27 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #4
    Have you tried putting it into forced restore?
     
  5. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    how?
     
  6. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
  7. gehrbox macrumors 65816

    gehrbox

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Charleston,SC
    #7
    Google "Restore iPod Touch"
     
  8. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #8
    i will try when i get home and let you know
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    How do you restore if it won't be detected by the computer?
     
  10. MattGTO macrumors regular

    MattGTO

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Mckinney, Texas
    #10
  11. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #11
    thanks! i'll try it asap
     
  12. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #12
    Thanks, that worked great!
     
  13. phillyman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #13
    interesting... I've got a similar problem. I updated to ipod touch 2.0... No problem, resynced my music, info and photos, again everything ok. I use it over the weekend.

    Next time I connect the touch to the computer. It shows up, syncs music, apps, info BUT on the photos a box with exclamation point pops up and says something about a required file is missing... In console I find this error log
    7/17/08 5:49:38 AM [0x0-0x24024].com.apple.iTunes[172] MobileDevice: AMDeviceCopyValue: There was an error getting the value from lockdown
    7/17/08 5:49:56 AM com.apple.launchd[91] (com.apple.netauth.useragent[158]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 166 PPID 1 check_afp
    7/17/08 5:50:46 AM [0x0-0x24024].com.apple.iTunes[172] MobileDevice: AMDeviceCopyValue: There was an error getting the value from lockdown
    7/17/08 5:53:18 AM [0x0-0x24024].com.apple.iTunes[172] MobileDevice: AMDeviceCopyValue: There was an error getting the value from lockdown

    I tried a second time without syncing the photos, no problem. Then tried syncing with a different photo library; same error message. Restored the ipod and did not use the backup. STILL the same error message. So I'm really at a loss of what to do... Any ideas? Thought of trashing some prefs but not sure which ones other than .com.apple.iTunes...

    Bad idea?
    Thanks for any help, insight,

    Phillyman
     
  14. jimmyjam88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #14
    hmmm... sorry about the delay. find a fix yet? if not: 1. turn off your ipod 2. hold the home key 3. plug in the cable & you should see a cable + itunes icon on your ipod screen.

    this will restore it to factory settings, but im not sure once you get rid of 2.0 you should still have it to re-download? or if you will have to buy it again...
     

Share This Page