iPod Touch not recognized on Desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Daniel2brooks, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. Daniel2brooks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #1
    I recently received a 15" Powerbook G4 with Leopard installed on it. I was trying to move some iTunes files when I realized that my 2nd Generation iPod Touch was not being recognized on the Desktop or Finder. The catch is that iTunes did know my iPod was hooked up. Anyone got any ideas on how i can make the iPod visible on desktop?
     
  2. KoolStar macrumors demi-god

    KoolStar

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    iPod touch's do not show up on the desktop or in finder.
     
  3. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #3
  4. harry*333 macrumors 6502a

    harry*333

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #4
    I'm pretty sure all ipods made after mid 2007 don't show up on the desktop
     
  5. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #5
    Only the iPod touch and iPhone do not show up on the desktop. All other iPods do appear. I see my fifth generation iPod nano on my desktop every time I sync it.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    All other iPods can appear. This only happens if disk use is enabled in iTunes.
     
  7. iDAG macrumors 65816

    iDAG

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Athens, Ohio
    #7
    Sorry, I forgot to mention that... :eek:
     
  8. Daniel2brooks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #8
    So even if i enable disk use, it still wouldn't show on desktop because its a touch?
     
  9. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #9
    You can't enable disk use because there's no checkbox for it.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    iPod Touches do not have a disk mode anyway, so they won't appear on desktop.
     
  11. Daniel2brooks thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #11
    Ok I gotcha now, sorry. Well does anyone have any suggestions on moving a 10Gb itunes library with album artwork and all from a pc to this powerbook?
     
  12. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #12
    external HD ? or USB drive? or over a local network?
     
  13. Eldiablojoe macrumors 6502a

    Eldiablojoe

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    West Koast
    #13
    Apple Store's Genius Bar will do it for you with an ethernet cable between the two. FWIW.
     

Share This Page