iPod Touch stuck on the Apple logo

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MacinJosh, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. MacinJosh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #1
    I'm trying very hard to keep my cool as I'm extremely pissed off at the moment. My experience with Apple's products in the last few weeks have been similar to Microsoft's. All the authentication issues with iTunes, MobileMe and now this damn iPod are driving me mental. I've searched the forum and the suggestions there have not helped.

    I've had a similar incident before and managed to "virginize" it by holding the sleep and home buttons down simultaneously for 10 seconds, then letting go of the sleep button but continueing to hold the home button down until the phone goes into restore mode. That helped then but not now.

    Is my iPod dead? I am able to shut it off but it just hangs on that damn logo. Funny thing is both iTunes and iPhoto load up when I connect the iPod but nothing happens. Ideas?

    Joshua.
     
  2. iProgrammer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio, United States
    #2
    I had the exact same problem on my iTouch.
    If you've already done the "virginize" trick and it doesn't help, my only advice would be to take it to an Apple store and see if they will fix it.
     
  3. Pain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #3
    Exact same problem. Except now Windows tells me that my USB has malfunctioned, and the USB Device isn't recongnized. Oh god. The trick isn't working either. It just turns my iPod off. I guess I'll have to take it to the store.
     
  4. Link2999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #4
    If it's been more than 30mins, and you can't get into restore mode and restore your iPod, you'll need to bring it to the Genius Bar and get a replacement.
     
  5. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #5
    I had that same problem last night, where it would try to start up, then freeze on startup. I just had to plug it in and hold the home and lock buttons like crazy for 30 minutes, and it finally worked. I even had to download pwnage and use it to get my ipod into DFU mode. That way, it restored without a problem. I left it plugged in overnight to restore all my content, and it is fine now. I just didn't restore from backup because it may contain the bug that caused the hang on startup.
     
  6. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #6
    On one, I couldn't get my iPhone into Restore mode by holding Home & Sleep/Wake button. But what did work, was shutting down, connecting it up to my Mac, while holding Home.

    Might work on an iTouch too?
     
  7. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #7
    Thats what I did, but I followed the way to get it into DFU mode, which is past recovery mode, by turning it off, holding both the home and lock buttons for 10 seconds, then letting go of the lock button and holding the home button until iTunes recognizes it. (It must be plugged in, and the screen will not turn on in DFU mode)
     
  8. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #8
    I too had this after 2.0.2. I put it into restore, restored the iPod and DIDN'T backup. I set the iPod as new and it's working fine now.
     
  9. fbboi999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #9
    I had the same problem and restoring fixed a few times... BUT it always does the same thing after a day (at the most) SO if you have the warranty still I highly recommend that you get a replacement ASAP. I did this and I told them how it had been a problem since 2.0 was released and they are sending me a new replacement free. (no s&h)
     
  10. ksimm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    #10
    This is just happening to my iPod Touch now.. I was browsing the store when it locked up, so I rebooted and it froze on the apple logo.

    Rebooting, with both buttons isn't helping so I'm going to try iTunes restore if I can. :(

    **Update**

    Restoring worked... few! :eek:
     
  11. MacinJosh thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Brought it to be serviced. They said it's dead and I'll get a new one in a few days.

    Joshua.
     
  12. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #12
    Strange, I'm now having the problem with 2.0.1 AND 2.0. What the hell has 2.0.2 done to it!
     
  13. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #13
    I just had this same exact problem as well and I had to restore as new instead of a backup. First I restored to backup, then I got the Apple logo again, so I went back into recovery and restored as new. Everything is fine now but I lost all of my Vay and SMB data, which totally ****ing blows. I was almost finished with Vay and SMB and had lot's of money in Vay :(

    Hopefully this common problem will be fixed in 2.0.3/2.1 or whatever software is being released in September.

    And now I'm going through the initial 6 hour backup process, YAY! :D
     
  14. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
  15. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    don't panic. it happened to me several times. what you have to do is just restore. turn off yours, and hold home button & connect with itunes, and wait. then you will see itunes logo & USB cord on your ipod touch. hit restore on itunes. that's all.
     
  16. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #16
    Thanks for the advice, although this has happened with 2.0.1 & 2.0.2. I'm going to attempt with 2.0. now.
     
  17. roooner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #17
    Works on the iTouch, do the same thing, hold the home and power button until it shuts off then connect the power cable WHILE holding the home button. I did this using a PC and it worked fine, you will have to restore your iPod though. Good Luck!
     
  18. simply smoots macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    #18
    thanks so much everybody ive been searching for a while on how to fix mine and this is the first forum to actually help. :). the key for me was letting go of the hold button after the ten seconds. i too have a PC and its working just fine.

    oh and btw i dropped mine in a full tub of water before this and its still working fine.
     
  19. Chuckieman1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #19
    Thanks Archurban

    Hello, Thankyou for that post you did because i did it and it worked so yer my ipod all fixed :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  20. surferdarylle, Nov 3, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010

    surferdarylle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #20
    i did everything that was posted here. i held down the home button, connected it to my laptop and hit restore on itunes. it said there that before restoring it has to download a software. it downloaded whatever software was needed but nothing happened. it shut off. i don't even know if it has been restored but when i turned the ipod on, it is still stuck on the apple logo. i tried doing it over again but nothing happened. now the laptop doesn't even recognize it. it won't even show up as a disk on my laptop and as well as on itunes. what do i do?
     

Share This Page