iPod touch wifi issues

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by johnnyhow, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. johnnyhow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #1
    I recently got an iPod touch 32g for Xmas and have been using safari a lot at home over our wifi network. However, It only ever picks up a max of 2 bars and normally sits on 1, so browsing can be painfully slow, not to mention the fact that it also drops out regularly. There is nothing wrong with our wireless router, as I get full reception while using my MacBook in the same room.

    My question is, is this simply due to the wifi reciever in all touches being weak, or have I picked up another faulty apple product (the first being my MacBooks disc drive).
     
  2. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I have a 2nd gen 16GB that does the same thing if I'm not right next to it. I think it's normal, unfortunately. Does your iPod have a case on it or not? I think they can effect the signal strength in a negative way.
     
  3. johnnyhow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #3
    It does have a thin silicon case around it, although I can't see how it would give more interference than me simply holding it in my hand.

    Good to know though that mine isn't the only one, I didn't really want to have to go through the hassle of returning/ repairing.

    Apple seem to excel at software making, but when it comes to their hardware, well they seem to either cut corners or use cheap parts, because despite every apple product looking aesthetily spectacular, internally they're no better, and in some cases worse, than other companies. I'm torn when it comes to upgrading my laptop.
     
  4. DigitalChimp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I got a 32gb iPod touch just before Christmas too.

    My WiFi on the other-hand works brilliantly! I was even out in the backyard the other day and had full signal. (Was loading up Youtube videos nicely) I too use a soft silicone case.

    I am using internet sharing from my iMac's built in airport, as all my computers are on a wired network. Maybe try it out on another network to see if you get different results?
     
  5. alcides11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Location:
    Pittsbugh, PA
    #5
    2nd Generation iPod Touch Fine

    I had a 2nd generation iPod Touch (OS 3.1) and never had a problem. Even one floor up from basement to 1st floor I still get full bars. On the second floor I get a steady and reliable 3 bars. I had a DLO silicon case on my touch.

    Are you connecting to a secure connection? If so just for fun try turning the security off on the router for wifi and see if your connection improves. If the connection improves, try using WEP instead of WPA for security if you're not already.
     
  6. Mugwumper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #6
    Me, too :^(

    I got the 64GB in December, and seem to be having the same problem. Not
    sure why a silicon case would be able to block a signal, but maybe it can . . .
    I get 1 bar in the den where my iMac is, and the iMac gets 4 bars. If I move
    to being in front of the router, the iPod still only gets 2 bars.

    As a result, the Touch won't automatically join the home network. And it
    also seems to "forget" the settings and WPA password. Any thoughts about
    how to help it remember? ;^)

    Thanks . . .
     
  7. slothrob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #7
    We get full strength well into the backyard with our 1st gen Touch, using a Verizon router.

    I've had the frequent network dropping problem at hotels, though, so perhaps it's a router issue.
     
  8. johnnyhow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #8
    The router is set on WEP, and it's a netgear router so they're meant to be prett good.

    Another thing of note is my nintendo wii and DS both recieve full reception inside the house.

    My guess is it's a problem with apple, and it's pretty much one of those luck of the draw things when it comes to getting a fully workable product from them.
     
  9. Moocher macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    NE Atlanta area
    #9
    Have you tried it without the case?

    If you can, ask a friend with a Touch to come over so you can compare. I had to return my 3g Touch for a replacement because of a bad wifi antenna, so it does happen. I tried a number of things and then compared it to a 1g and another 3g, with mine obviously the worst. The signal strength was fine, but it would intermittently drop the signal for a second or two, which was a pain with wifi radio and downloads.

    Download the WiFiTrak and Speedtest apps and see what they tell you.


    Mooch
     
  10. johnnyhow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #10
    I've taken the case off now and the signal is stil on low. But the weird thing is, is that sometimes it jumps up to two and then three and then back to one. Sometimes I'll turn on my touch, it'll pick up a signal and say three but a few seconds later it'll stay on 1.

    So how would I go about returning it? (ie will they need proof?)

    Also is this a common issue with the iPod touch?
     
  11. pilotrtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #11
    What you describe sounds like the WiFi issue that appeared after OS 3 came out. I had no issues when I was on 2.x but I now have all those issues you mention after I went to 3.x. I think there is no fix for it unless it comes by way of a new major or minor update of the OS.
     

Share This Page