iPod Touch WiFi phone

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by k4show, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. k4show macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #1
    Most of the time, where I am at I can get wifi. I want to get a 32gb 3G Touch. Is it possible to use it as a wifi phone?

    Thanks
     
  2. csnplt macrumors 6502

    csnplt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #2
    Skype.
     
  3. k4show thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #4
    Okay sounds good. Will the headphone/mic combo that comes with it work well for skype?
     
  4. thefatmould macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Location:
    Kaiapoi New Zealand
  5. k4show thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #6
    Fantastic, are the headphones that come with it, in-ear or the regular bud style?
     
  6. na1577 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
  7. csnplt macrumors 6502

    csnplt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #8
  8. McCready00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #9
    well that is nice, but do you hear the person you are speaking with?
    (I don't own the itouch yet, planning to buy it on tuesday!)
     
  9. csnplt macrumors 6502

    csnplt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #10
    You here the other person via the built in speaker, kind of like a speakerphone.

    I, too, might be buying a 32 GB iPod touch 3G on Tuesday. I tried it out in the store today, and it is really, really fast. Easily twice as fast as the older version.
     
  10. McCready00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #11
  11. Alleyoop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #12
    Are you sure? Some of the reviews say that when the devise is plugged in it disables the sound. I am looking for something exactly like this, but want to make sure I can still hear people when using skype.
     
  12. hugoleveille macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #13
    There is a speaker button that will bypass the headphone
     
  13. mooblie macrumors 6502

    mooblie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    The Highlands, Scotland
    #14
    Confirmed - but I think this is a relatively recent feature only on the more recent versions of the Skype app. During a call, a panel comes up allowing you to force the use of the onboard speaker (despite there being a plug in the headphone socket).

    Makes a neater Skype phone, rather than using cables everywhere, but the sound comes out of the same end of the iPod (the bottom) as the mic. But it's quite usable.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. lakeuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #15

Share This Page