iPod Touch will not restore

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Boeing747, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Boeing747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #1
    Hello Everybody,
    Recently I got an apple developer account and so I decided to download iOS5 beta 3. When I downloaded it I tried to put it on my iPod. Everything was going well just like a normal update. Then when it was done it just put my iPod in restore mode. When I try to restore it, it gives me error 1600. I looked on apple's website and 1600 means you should reinstall iTunes. So I did that but it didn't help. Can anybody help me it would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

    :apple:B747
     
  2. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #2
    I take it you installed the latest version of iTunes required for iOS 5b3? It's different from the one that's publicly available, so you'll have to download it through your Dev account.

    If you've done this already, have you ever used tinyumbrella on your computer? You may have to reset the host file in that case.

    Another possible reason if you have used wifi sync in the past for a jailbroken device. In that case you have to uninstall wifi sync from your computer first.

    That's all the possible solutions i can think of at the moment...
     
  3. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #3
    What does tiny umbrella do and how do I use it?
     
  4. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    Tinyumbrella is used to keep the ability to install previous versions of iOS on your device. If you've never heard of it, then it probably isnt causing the issue for you.

    Did you check which version of iTunes you are running?
     
  5. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #5
    Yes I am running iTunes 10.5. So do you know anything else that could be causing the problem?
     
  6. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    I'm afraid not, that's all I can think off at the moment. I'm not a Dev though, so maybe somebody else will be able to chip in.
     
  7. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #7
    Okay thank you for your contribution. :)
     
  8. jonrando macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #8
    If it's in recovery mode or DFU mode, you can kick it out of that by downloading TinyUmbrella. As said above, it's used mostly for jailbroken devices, but really anyone can use it if they need to.

    Download TinyUmbrella and make sure your device is connected. You'll see a list of connected devices on the left. If your device is connected, there should only be one deviceand it's name will be numbers, if I remember correctly. Click the device then click Exit recovery mode. When it's done, you'll see the connect to iTunes screen and you'll be ready to restore.
     
  9. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #9
    That didn't work either...........

    it's starting to look like this is hopeless *sigh*
     
  10. Tech Elementz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #10
    Which iPod Touch is it? iPod Touch 1G? 2G? 3G? or 4G?

    I hope you are installing it on either a 3G or 4G...

    By the way, to fix error 1600, run iREB. http://ih8sn0w.com/index.php/products/view/ireb.snow
     
  11. jonrando macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #11
    Well as Tech Elements said, hopefully you downloaded it onto a device that supports iOS 5 and one that you use as a test device. Betas aren't meant to be used as your daily driver' only test devices.

    Btw, TinyUmbrella will only work to exit recovery mod if your device is in DFU mode / recovery mode. You obviously can't exit that mode if it's not in it.
     
  12. Nicolas4ever macrumors 6502a

    Nicolas4ever

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #12
    are you sure that your itunes is 10.5 BETA 3?if not then that's the problem
     
  13. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #13
    yes im sure.........
     
  14. Boeing747 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    In Steve Job's Closet
    #14
    Thank you everybody I have fixed it. Thanks you all for your contributions :)
     
  15. Tech Elementz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #15
    It's a pleasure to help out the community. :D
     
  16. DJC631 macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #16
    After restoring to iOS 5 Beta 4 in Xcode my iPod touch 4g restored then went to black screen. When I tried to restore in iTunes 5 beta 4 it says it must be updated. I downloaded the iOS 4 update but when it tries to restore the ipod no longer shows up and it says "ipod can't be restored, unknown error (1600).
    I can't delete itunes to downgrade. I've tried doing the methods in this thread with no luck.
    The ipod is unresponsive, nothing but a black screen.

    PLEASE HELP
     
  17. Tech Elementz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #17
    First of all, how did you use xcode to update your iPod Touch?

    Second of all, did you use iREB?

    Third of all, it is very difficult to downgrade from iOS 5 to iOS 4. There are many tutorials for it...Google Them.
     
  18. DJC631 macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #18
    Xcode to choose the firmware and set the ipod as a development unit.
    Is there another way to update the device to the beta firmware?

    I have no idea what iREB is

    and I have looked on Google but found nothing useful.
    My device has been fixed at the apple store but I can't restore it's settings since it was a beta
     

Share This Page