iPortable Snow

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Synthion, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. Synthion, Jan 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011

    Synthion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    #1
    This is Hackintosh business, but I love you people so much.

    Has anyone ever heard of or tried iPortable Snow? If you have, can you tell me how it went? Any thing to look out for? It seems pretty straightforward, but I'm going to be using some old, I mean OLD, hardware.

    Here is a great little article from our friends at LifeHacker/Gizmodo Link

    Anything would be great.

    P.S.: I not a n00b, I know my way around the command line if necessary.

    P.P.S.: This is my first post. Long-time reply-er, longer time viewer
     
  2. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #2
    I've heard of people using it successfully, but I've never used it myself. It seems to work on a more case-by-case basis as opposed to broad generalizations about what hardware will or will not work. If you want to know if you can run it on some older hardware, the only way is to try it and see how it goes.
     
  3. EdChambo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #3
    I'm hoping to try this on an old laptop sometime this week, I'll let you know how it goes.

    I was under the impression that it would work on ANY intel based pc?
     
  4. jmarranca macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #4
    It works great

    I am actually using iPortable Snow right now. It is very fast...as a matter of fact, quite a bit faster than my 10.5.8 installation on a hard drive.

    Also, if you take the image that you created...you can use Disk Utility to set it to a hard drive, if you don't wish to continue using it as a USB installation.

    Cheers.

    JM
     
  5. gcontr1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #5
    Potable iSnow image to HDD

    Hello JM,

    Would appreciate if you help me understand how to get an image of the iSnow Portable USB (which is working great by the way, just missing Wireless) and explain how to install in HDD?,,,THANKS !!

    Gregorio
     

Share This Page