IPP Printer & New Router Emergency

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Kashchei, Jul 24, 2011.

1. Kashchei macrumors 65816

Kashchei

I stumped the guy at my local Apple store--he was so young, he didn't even know Apple once made printers--but I'm using a LaserWriter 16/600 PS that still works perfectly. Today we had a lightening strike, and our router was fried in the process. I went to buy a new one, set it up, and realized I can't use the printer anymore. I must admit that I am a complete novice when it comes to networking and routers, and someone else walked me through the process of setting the LaserWriter up as an IPP printer. I now need someone else who can get my printer back up and running with the new router--my wife is submitting an article for publication and this is our only printer! Thank you for your help in advance.

2. gsahli macrumors 6502a

gsahli

First error - the Laserwriter was made before IPP existed (IPP = Internet Printing Protocol, not IP printer).
    The Laserwriter uses IP > LPD. The queue name of the Laserwriter is raw.
    You need to check the IP address of the Laserwriter by printing a setup/config page - I think by power off/back on.
    You can change settings on the printer by using the Terminal utility on the Mac and telnetting to the printer's current IP address - example:
    telnet 192.168.33.7

3. Kashchei, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

Kashchei thread starter macrumors 65816

Kashchei

Dear gsahli,