IPv6 LAN IPv4 WAN + Airport Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by panjandrum, Jul 28, 2017.

  1. panjandrum macrumors regular

    panjandrum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    Long story short, I'm embarrassed to say that this is the first time I've really delved into IPv6. Our ISP only offers IPv4, and our school network was around 200 total devices. That's the largest network I support, so there simply hasn't been any pressing reason to worry about it yet.

    But, enter a large donation of 25 Mac Pro 4,1 (now 5,1, of course!) machines, and add a few staff devices, and suddenly we are really pushing the IPv4 address limit so I figured I would start looking into implementing IPv6 on the LAN and setting at least a subset of devices into an IPv6 only mode so they don't eat-up our IPv4 addresses.

    I would prefer to continue utilizing our existing primary router, an Airport Extreme, since it integrates so well with Mac OS X Server, but if it won't work, it won't work, so feel free to suggest alternatives.

    Setting up the tunneling was fairly straight-forward, as was getting a test Mac to connect via IPv6 with IPv4 disabled.

    I set up IPv6 on the AE router to connect "Automatically" and the IPv6 Mode to "Tunnel" and *bang*, it sort of works. Router has 7.6.8 firmware (latest available for that model).

    However, a LOT of domains won't resolve. Many will, but many won't. Googling around, it appears that this is a common issue.

    So I thought I would ask here before I spend untold hours trying circumvent either a) my own ignorance or b) a function that simply won't work as intended.

    Has anyone had luck getting the Tunneling on AE routers to be reliable? If so, how did you make it work? (Remember, I want to totally disable IPv4 on at least a subset of devices on the LAN).

    Thanks for any tips you may have!
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    I had a 4th gen AEand its IPv6 support was spotty. I have had much better usability for a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter.

    I must ask, are you using private IP addresses internally. If so, how are you running low?
     
  3. Mikael H macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #3
    IPv4 is far from being a bottleneck with only a couple of hundred local devices. Add more subnets (may require more customizable routers) or change to a less restrictive netmask. Here is a good place to start: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv4_subnetting_reference

    Switching from an address scheme with an 24-bit netmask (255.255.255.0) to one with a 16-bit netmask (255.255.0.0) lets you address more than 65000 additional devices. That should hold you for a while. But read up a bit on the design part first, or have someone with know-how give you some hints along the way.
     
  4. panjandrum thread starter macrumors regular

    panjandrum

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Thanks! I appreciate the advice. I simply didn't expect to ever encounter this issue, so didn't bother to do any advance research into the matter. You've given me a couple good places to start. I'm still inclined to try to figure out an IPv6 solution, since supposedly that's the ultimate way forward, but I'm not averse to other solutions.

    belvdr: Which specific Ubiquiti EdgeRouter have you been using?
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    I have the EdgeRouter Lite 3 port. I opted for this for its performance over the ERX. I have been more than happy with it for the cost. I am able to take the IPv6 subnet given to it by the ISP and split it for each of my LANs internally.
     

Share This Page