IPv6 Relay Error?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Nermal, Feb 29, 2016.

  1. Nermal, Feb 29, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2016

    Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hi all,

    I was poking around on my ISP's site and noticed that they offer IPv6 now. I went to AirPort Utility and set IPv6 to Automatic. This appeared to work for a minute or two (test-ipv6.com reported 7/10, and another site that I frequently visit showed a special IPv6 logo) then it dropped back to v4 and AirPort Utility reported "IPv6 Relay Error". Rebooting everything resulted in the same error (compounded by the broken security update over the weekend!)

    I know next to nothing about IPv6 so I'm not sure whether this is a configuration issue at my end, an issue with the ISP, or something else. Does anyone know what this error means and what to do about it?

    The router is an older Extreme (one of the flat 802.11n models [Edit: 4th gen, version 7.6.4]). It's connected straight to the ONT (fibre modem) and uses PPPoE.

    Any ideas? It doesn't really concern me if I don't get this working, but I'm curious now :)
     
  2. Nermal, Mar 13, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2016

    Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I've had another look at this. Something I hadn't noticed before is that "IPv6 Mode" is set to Tunnel instead of Native, and is greyed out. It's greyed out even if I select manual configuration (previously I'd just been using automatic).

    Interestingly if I go back a step and change the connection type from PPPoE to DHCP then it lets me choose Native, but the moment I change it back to PPPoE it flips back to Tunnel. Does that sound like it could be a bug? I've had a search online and can't find anyone else having the same issue :(

    Edit: I've found some old posts saying that IPv6 doesn't work via PPPoE. Of course, Apple's documentation doesn't bother to say that...
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    In case anyone stumbles upon this post, I finally got around to asking Apple about it. Looks like a no-go :(

     
  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    That stinks. I had no luck with IPv6 on an AEBS 4th gen either. Moving to a Linksys worked part of the time, but now with an Ubiquiti EdgeRouter, it works every time.
     

Share This Page