Iris Pro only = better?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AppleGoat, May 27, 2014.

1. AppleGoat macrumors 6502a

I'm trying to conceive of reasons to go with the discrete GPU-less 15" rMBP. The reason is obvious: I wish to save money. I'd upgrade the RAM to 16gigs, since I'm a graphic designer by trade. That's about it.

Ok, so my basis for believing the Iris Pro only 15" is better revolves around durability and heat. I feel one of the common causes of a death for a computer is a bad video card and more heat is never a good thing for a notebook. Am I right for assuming the average lifespan of the base 15" is probably longer than the higher-end model with the 750m?

Don't get me wrong, if money were not an issue, I would have gotten the higher-end model a long time ago; but, naturally, money is an issue and am I right to believe this is one (lone) advantage of saving money and going with the base model?

2. thundersteele macrumors 68030

This is pure speculation. I've heard reports of people saying that the Iris Pro runs hotter, since both CPU & GPU are on the same chip. But the CPU is usually very able to take that heat, and other parts of the machine remain cooler, so this is not really a problem.
    The discrete GPUs have a bit of a bad history. But so far I haven't heard of any problems with either the 650M or the 750M.

In the end, I think the Iris Pro only machine should be more than sufficient for your graphics design purposes. This is what you should base your decision on.

PS: The high-end model is usually in the refurbished store for $2200... just saying ;)

3. AppleGoat thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks for the response -- yeah, I've been eyeing the $1949 refurb (2.3ghz & 16GB sans dGPU). I wonder if I should pony up for the dGPU but the aforementioned model is pushing my budget as is.