Irritating issue with macbook after uninstalling an adblocker...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by purple panda power puff, May 22, 2016.

  1. purple panda power puff macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #1
    Hey,
    so about a week ago i installed a free adblocker to get rid of the youtube ads you have to skip through after having about 2 months of 2 minute plus ads that i couldn't skip through (generally the same one too)
    so then i noticed not long after that when clicking on a video it won't start playing or loading for that matter unless i turn my internet on and off again, as soon as i turn it off the video starts then i have to turn it on really quick so it doesn't stop again and will actually buffer. I use a Macbook Pro (2015) and I run El Capitan (fully up to date- I'm pretty good when it comes to updates) and I've never had this problem before installing this damn thing (serves me right for trying to be cheap) so my intuition is telling me that i haven't installed it properly which is irritating because i use youtube a lot.
    It never happens with netflix or anything else which is why I'm assuming that its because of this stupid adblocker app as it was specifically meant for youtube.
    I was wondering if anyone has had the same issue with these free adblockers and if you've managed to get rid of them without totally wiping the entire mac as i have a lot of stuff on here that i otherwise wouldn't have room to put anywhere else.

    Its not that i have a problem with you tubers making money from these ads, as many people have suggested but when you are watching the same ad again and again and you can't skip it for like two months straight its really annoying (first world problems i know).
    I use youtube a lot for researching experience design for my graphic design degree as i just for whatever reason don't like vimeo that much so watching these 2 minute long ads can get really distracting.
    someone please help me because its doing my head in over here!

    Thank you in advance for any help and replies and really any advice would be much appreciated xD
     
  2. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #2
    1. Which ad blocker did you install?

    2. Please generate and post an EtreCheck report.
     
  3. purple panda power puff thread starter macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #3
    here is the report
    EtreCheck version: 2.9.12 (265)

    Report generated 2016-05-23 16:33:49

    Download EtreCheck from https://etrecheck.com

    Runtime 2:31

    Performance: Excellent



    Click the [Support] links for help with non-Apple products.

    Click the [Details] links for more information about that line.



    Problem: Other problem



    Hardware Information:

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)

    [Technical Specifications] - [User Guide] - [Warranty & Service]

    MacBook Pro - model: MacBookPro11,4

    1 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7 CPU: 4-core

    16 GB RAM Not upgradeable

    BANK 0/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    BANK 1/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    Bluetooth: Good - Handoff/Airdrop2 supported

    Wireless: en0: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

    Battery: Health = Normal - Cycle count = 225


    Video Information:

    Intel Iris Pro

    Color LCD 2880 x 1800


    System Software:

    OS X El Capitan 10.11.5 (15F34) - Time since boot: about 4 days


    Disk Information:

    APPLE SSD SM0256G disk0 : (251 GB) (Solid State - TRIM: Yes)

    EFI (disk0s1) <not mounted> : 210 MB

    Recovery HD (disk0s3) <not mounted> [Recovery]: 650 MB

    Macintosh HD (disk1) / : 249.78 GB (170.45 GB free)

    Encrypted AES-XTS Unlocked

    Core Storage: disk0s2 250.14 GB Online


    USB Information:

    Apple Card Reader

    Apple Inc. Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad

    Broadcom Corp. Bluetooth USB Host Controller


    Thunderbolt Information:

    Apple Inc. thunderbolt_bus


    Gatekeeper:

    Mac App Store and identified developers


    Kernel Extensions:

    /Library/Application Support/Avast/components/fileshield/unsigned

    [loaded] com.avast.AvastFileShield (3.0.0 - SDK 10.10 - 2016-04-12) [Support]



    /Library/Application Support/Avast/components/proxy/unsigned

    [loaded] com.avast.PacketForwarder (2.1 - SDK 10.10 - 2016-04-12) [Support]



    System Launch Agents:

    [not loaded] 7 Apple tasks

    [loaded] 152 Apple tasks

    [running] 79 Apple tasks


    System Launch Daemons:

    [not loaded] 47 Apple tasks

    [loaded] 149 Apple tasks

    [running] 94 Apple tasks


    Launch Agents:

    [not loaded] com.adobe.AAM.Updater-1.0.plist (2016-05-17) [Support]

    [running] com.adobe.AdobeCreativeCloud.plist (2016-02-14) [Support]

    [running] com.avast.secureline.update-agent.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.userinit.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]

    [running] com.avast.update-agent.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.userinit.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.oracle.java.Java-Updater.plist (2016-05-19) [Support]


    Launch Daemons:

    [loaded] com.adobe.SwitchBoard.plist (2015-10-27) [Support]

    [running] com.adobe.adobeupdatedaemon.plist (2016-04-12) [Support]

    [loaded] com.adobe.agsservice.plist (2015-10-22) [Support]

    [failed] com.adobe.fpsaud.plist (2016-05-09) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.init.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.init.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.uninstall.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.update.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.uninstall.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.update.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.ea.origin.ESHelper.plist (2016-05-01) [Support]

    [loaded] com.microsoft.autoupdate.helpertool.plist (2015-10-22) [Support]

    [loaded] com.microsoft.office.licensingV2.helper.plist (2015-10-08) [Support]

    [loaded] com.oracle.java.Helper-Tool.plist (2016-05-19) [Support]


    User Launch Agents:

    [loaded] com.adobe.AAM.Updater-1.0.plist (2015-10-27) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.home.userinit.plist (2016-04-13) [Support]

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.home.userinit.plist (2016-04-28) [Support]


    User Login Items:

    Knowhow Cloud Application (/Applications/Knowhow Cloud.app/Contents/Resources/Knowhow Cloud.app)


    Other Apps:

    [running] com.adobe.CCLibrary.133152

    [running] com.adobe.CCXProcess.134112

    [running] com.adobe.acc.AdobeDesktopService.66912.A6A6E45E-0928-44CF-B38C-F849FC291D67

    [running] com.adobe.accmac.124192

    [loaded] com.avast.account

    [loaded] com.avast.crashreport

    [running] com.avast.daemon

    [running] com.avast.fileshield

    [running] com.avast.helper

    [running] com.avast.proxy

    [running] com.avast.secureline.avastsecurelinehelper

    [loaded] com.avast.secureline.burger

    [running] com.avast.secureline.service

    [running] com.avast.service

    [running] com.hp.devicemonitor

    [running] com.livedrive.livedriveapp.99232

    [loaded] 409 Apple tasks

    [running] 211 Apple tasks


    Internet Plug-ins:

    FlashPlayer-10.6: 21.0.0.242 - SDK 10.6 (2016-05-17) [Support]

    QuickTime Plugin: 7.7.3 (2016-05-17)

    Flash Player: 21.0.0.242 - SDK 10.6 (2016-05-17) [Support]

    JavaAppletPlugin: Java 8 Update 91 build 14 (2016-05-19) Check version

    AdobeAAMDetect: 3.0.0.0 - SDK 10.9 (2016-04-12) [Support]

    Default Browser: 601 - SDK 10.11 (2016-05-17)



    3rd Party Preference Panes:

    Flash Player (2016-05-09) [Support]

    Java (2016-04-01) [Support]


    Time Machine:

    Time Machine not configured!



    Top Processes by CPU:

    23% com.avast.daemon

    8% com.apple.WebKit.WebContent(5)

    3% com.apple.WebKit.Networking

    3% WindowServer

    2% com.avast.proxy


    Top Processes by Memory:

    1.42 GB com.apple.WebKit.WebContent(5)

    1.22 GB kernel_task

    98 MB Knowhow Cloud

    98 MB Safari

    98 MB networkd


    Virtual Memory Information:

    6.49 GB Free RAM

    9.50 GB Used RAM (1.66 GB Cached)

    2.32 GB Swap Used

    and I've screen shotted the app from the app store Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 16.06.14.png
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I'm not seeing anything there that shows that adblock app launching. My thought is your issue is more related to all that Avast junk you have running there. I would completely remove everything by Avast.
     
  5. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #5
    Indeed. Additionally, as far as I'm aware, it's impossible for a deleted App Store app to continue to affect the rest of the system.

    Does the issue occur when using web browsers other than Safari?

    How do you turn your Internet connection "off and on again"?
     
  6. purple panda power puff thread starter macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #6
    It never happens with anything else I've tried multiple browsers and it was all running fine. By turning the internet on and off i mean turning WiFi on and off in the top bar of my screen. Before this the avast stuff has been fine and hasn't affected anything so i don't know :')

    Any suggestions welcome xD
     
  7. richard2 macrumors regular

    richard2

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #7
    Try the following:

    1. If Safari is open, then close it (command-Q).
    2. In Finder, press shift-command-G, enter "~/Library/Safari", and then press return.
    3. Select all of the items except for the file Bookmarks.plist.
    4. Press command-delete.

    You should also restart your router in case it's malfunctioning.
     
  8. purple panda power puff thread starter macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #8
    It hasn't done a thing =/
    I did all as you said but alas no luck haha
     
  9. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #9
    You have properly uninstalled Avast, right ?

    If so, could you please run EtreCheck again and post the output here please ?
     
  10. purple panda power puff thread starter macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #10
    Hi, Sorry for such awful replies - been away on business.
    Here is the check you asked for after totally uninstalling avast :)

    EtreCheck version: 2.9.12 (265)

    Report generated 2016-06-08 02:52:54

    Download EtreCheck from https://etrecheck.com

    Runtime 1:28

    Performance: Excellent



    Click the [Support] links for help with non-Apple products.

    Click the [Details] links for more information about that line.



    Problem: No problem - just checking



    Hardware Information:

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)

    [Technical Specifications] - [User Guide] - [Warranty & Service]

    MacBook Pro - model: MacBookPro11,4

    1 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7 CPU: 4-core

    16 GB RAM Not upgradeable

    BANK 0/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    BANK 1/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1600 MHz ok

    Bluetooth: Good - Handoff/Airdrop2 supported

    Wireless: en0: 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

    Battery: Health = Normal - Cycle count = 240


    Video Information:

    Intel Iris Pro

    Color LCD 2880 x 1800


    System Software:

    OS X El Capitan 10.11.5 (15F34) - Time since boot: less than an hour


    Disk Information:

    APPLE SSD SM0256G disk0 : (251 GB) (Solid State - TRIM: Yes)

    EFI (disk0s1) <not mounted> : 210 MB

    Recovery HD (disk0s3) <not mounted> [Recovery]: 650 MB

    Macintosh HD (disk1) / : 249.78 GB (174.89 GB free)

    Encrypted AES-XTS Unlocked

    Core Storage: disk0s2 250.14 GB Online


    USB Information:

    Apple Inc. Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad

    Broadcom Corp. Bluetooth USB Host Controller


    Thunderbolt Information:

    Apple Inc. thunderbolt_bus


    Gatekeeper:

    Mac App Store and identified developers


    Kernel Extensions:

    /Library/Application Support/Avast/components/fileshield/unsigned

    [not loaded] com.avast.AvastFileShield (3.0.0 - SDK 10.10) [Support]



    /Library/Application Support/Avast/components/proxy/unsigned

    [not loaded] com.avast.PacketForwarder (2.1 - SDK 10.10) [Support]



    System Launch Agents:

    [not loaded] 7 Apple tasks

    [loaded] 151 Apple tasks

    [running] 80 Apple tasks


    System Launch Daemons:

    [not loaded] 47 Apple tasks

    [loaded] 155 Apple tasks

    [running] 88 Apple tasks


    Launch Agents:

    [not loaded] com.adobe.AAM.Updater-1.0.plist (2016-05-17) [Support]

    [running] com.adobe.AdobeCreativeCloud.plist (2016-02-14) [Support]

    [loaded] com.oracle.java.Java-Updater.plist (2016-05-19) [Support]


    Launch Daemons:

    [loaded] com.adobe.SwitchBoard.plist (2015-10-27) [Support]

    [running] com.adobe.adobeupdatedaemon.plist (2016-04-12) [Support]

    [loaded] com.adobe.agsservice.plist (2015-10-22) [Support]

    [loaded] com.adobe.fpsaud.plist (2016-05-09) [Support]

    [loaded] com.ea.origin.ESHelper.plist (2016-05-01) [Support]

    [loaded] com.microsoft.autoupdate.helpertool.plist (2015-10-22) [Support]

    [loaded] com.microsoft.office.licensingV2.helper.plist (2015-10-08) [Support]

    [loaded] com.oracle.java.Helper-Tool.plist (2016-05-19) [Support]


    User Launch Agents:

    [loaded] com.adobe.AAM.Updater-1.0.plist (2015-10-27) [Support]


    User Login Items:

    Knowhow Cloud Application (/Applications/Knowhow Cloud.app/Contents/Resources/Knowhow Cloud.app)


    Other Apps:

    [running] com.adobe.CCLibrary.133152

    [running] com.adobe.CCXProcess.134112

    [running] com.adobe.acc.AdobeDesktopService.66912.46921F9E-A9BD-4B93-B76A-222617F9C0F9

    [running] com.adobe.accmac.124192

    [loaded] com.avast.home.userinit

    [running] com.etresoft.EtreCheck.141472

    [running] com.hp.devicemonitor

    [running] com.livedrive.livedriveapp.99232

    [loaded] 392 Apple tasks

    [running] 193 Apple tasks


    Internet Plug-ins:

    FlashPlayer-10.6: 21.0.0.242 - SDK 10.6 (2016-05-17) [Support]

    QuickTime Plugin: 7.7.3 (2016-05-17)

    Flash Player: 21.0.0.242 - SDK 10.6 (2016-05-17) [Support]

    JavaAppletPlugin: Java 8 Update 91 build 14 (2016-05-19) Check version

    AdobeAAMDetect: 3.0.0.0 - SDK 10.9 (2016-04-12) [Support]

    Default Browser: 601 - SDK 10.11 (2016-05-17)



    3rd Party Preference Panes:

    Flash Player (2016-05-09) [Support]

    Java (2016-04-01) [Support]


    Time Machine:

    Time Machine not configured!



    Top Processes by CPU:

    25% mds_stores

    14% mdworker(14)

    3% kernel_task

    2% fontd

    2% launchd


    Top Processes by Memory:

    970 MB kernel_task

    262 MB com.apple.WebKit.WebContent(2)

    229 MB mdworker(14)

    213 MB node(2)

    164 MB Adobe CEF Helper(2)


    Virtual Memory Information:

    8.83 GB Free RAM

    7.16 GB Used RAM (4.66 GB Cached)

    0 B Swap Used


    Diagnostics Information:

    Jun 8, 2016, 02:50:37 AM Self test - passed
     
  11. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #11
    With Safari open, click on any Safari Window. Keep typing Command-W over and over again until all windows close. If any window refuses to close, click the red window close button.

    Once all windows are closed, click Command-Q to quit Safari.

    Then re-open Safari. Do you still have the same problem or has it gone away?
     
  12. purple panda power puff thread starter macrumors newbie

    purple panda power puff

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Location:
    South of England
    #12
    Yep still got the same problem :/ although it didnt do it once today for whatever reason and then it went back it its difficult self and i just had the black frame again unless i turned WIFI on and off (I do the same with my router constantly but to no avail)
     

Share This Page