Is 10.5 iPad Pro/2017 12.9 Touch ID gen 2?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by thadoggfather, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know?

    I would be a little miffed if it were still gen 1.

    also wondering how much ram is in 10.5 iPad Pro, but I guess well find out next week
     
  2. justinTlME macrumors 6502

    justinTlME

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #2
    I was just in a chat on the apple store and they claim the ram is the same from before. 2 GB in 10.5 and 4 in the 12.9. Do we believe or not is the question.
     
  3. thadoggfather thread starter macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    Nah. It's probably their guess

    I doubt they've been briefed.
     
  4. justinTlME macrumors 6502

    justinTlME

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #4
    I was transferred to a specialist.....but again, probably not correct. I wouldn't be surprised though.
     
  5. nordique macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #5
    It looks like it’s second gen according to their product page (2x faster)
     
  6. Aluminum213 macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #6
    Highly doubt it, Tim Cook will cut costs at every point and I'm sure there are old gen 1 Touch ID's sitting unused in warehouses
     
  7. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
  8. gobikerider macrumors 65832

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Yah and they just magically made them 2x faster, nice troll bro.
     
  9. Robdmb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #9
    Is the Touch ID solid like the iPhone 7 or is it still a physical button that pushes in?
     
  10. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #10
    It's mechanical and not stationary.
     
  11. sunapple macrumors 6502a

    sunapple

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Shame but it's still physical. The iPhone has the Taptic Engine, but iPad doesn't deserve that apparently. And where's 3D Touch?
     
  12. gobikerider macrumors 65832

    gobikerider

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    Physical not solid
     
  13. Tapiture macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #13
    iPad would need like 5 Taptic engines because it has a huge surface area that'd need to be covered for a vibrate. Plus, the solid home button would be the only reason for it because you don't carry the iPad in your pocket where a vibration notification would be useful. Taking up that much space for one purpose doesn't make sense.
     
  14. sunapple macrumors 6502a

    sunapple

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    Well, the Taptic Engine gives all kinds of haptic feedback throughout iOS, not only the notifications and home button. But yes, it would require some new setup. If they ever manage to include 3D Touch than they have to find a solution for the Taptic Engine as well.
     
  15. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #15
    3D Touch is what I'm holding out for - you know Apple is working hard to implement it given that every other device in their lineup features it. That'll get me to pull the trigger but these are very nice improvements.
     
  16. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    Won't be true. Aside from it being silly that the iphone 7 plus has 3gb and the iPad 10.5" has 2gb....the iPad Pro 10.5" seems to be able to handle two slide over apps, where as the 9.7" can only do one. I expect that is due to RAM.
     
  17. sunapple macrumors 6502a

    sunapple

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    It could have some real impact on typing for example. For now though I'm tempted to get an iPad again just because of what iOS 11 will bring. Also maybe the 10.5" size, but I'll have to see that one in a store first.
     
  18. Tapiture macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #18
    [​IMG]
    One, two and three apps running in iPad Pro 9.7.
     
  19. Zaft macrumors 68040

    Zaft

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #19
    Has to be Gen 2 at this point. I'm still on my Air 2, I actually leave my iPad unlocked with no pin or FP as its always home.
     
  20. Aluminum213 macrumors 68040

    Aluminum213

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #20
    That's what next years iPad model is for
     
  21. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #21
  22. Tapiture macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #22
  23. omgitscro macrumors 6502a

    omgitscro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #24
    Xcode docs (and others with review units) have already confirmed that both Pro models have 4GB of RAM. This is in contrast to only the 12.9” Pro having 4GB, and the 9.7” Pro having 2GB.
     
  24. thadoggfather thread starter macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #25
    These pros are legit


    4gb ram and Touch ID 2 and 64gb storage base
     

Share This Page