Is 128 GB RAM supported in Mac OS X Mountain Lion ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Sep 8, 2012.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I know that 96 GB was supported in Lion. How about Mountain Lion ?
     
  2. xdxdaustin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut, United States
    #2

    I do believe the current bottleneck by the OS is 16TB as introduced in Snow Leopard. Where would you be getting all this ram!?
     
  3. papoopeepoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #3
    I remember reading somewhere that ML was tested to support 128gb, but only shows 96gb in about this mac and the like. In activity monitor, though, 128gb showed up and was accessible.

    Others will chime in.
     
  4. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #4
    In my test it was almost the opposite. In about this Mac 128 GB shows up, but in activity monitor only 96 is reported. Then when I ran a program that I knew would try to use 128, it could not. I suppose activity monitor may not be reporting usage above 96 GB, but what else can you do?
     
  5. papoopeepoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #5
    Got it now, thanks.
     
  6. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Thank you. I just wanted to know ;)

    Windows Vista Business/Ultimate supports up to 128 GB RAM
    Windows 7 Professional/Ultimate supports up to 192 GB RAM
    Windows 8 consumer preview supports up to 512 GB RAM :)
     
  7. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #7
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Says right below: **Current Mac OS X versions are unable to utilize more then 96GB RAM due to an operating system limitation. 128GB can be fully utilized by a 2009-2010 Mac Pro if running Bootcamp with 64-bit versions of Windows XP and later as well as with 64-bit versions of Linux.
     
  9. Tutor macrumors 65816

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Home of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
    #9
    Thanks for clarification and update.
     
  10. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #10
    That's interesting. I wonder why they just din't set the limit at 999 Exabytes or some other ridiculous amount and avoid issues? It's not like they are unaware that capabilities of hardware increase all the time.
     
  11. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Because they can't properly test it and develop around it.
     
  12. mackid1993 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #12
    The amount of RAM that the OS can support is irrelevant at this point. The concern is really what one's logic board can support.
     
  13. FluJunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #13
    Except this is patently not true on a Mac Pro, where running Windows 64-bit or Linux you can get access to 128 GB of RAM, but OS X will top out at 96.
     
  14. fhenry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  15. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #15
    He will probably answer we do not support such large amount of RAM and will tell us to wait till Mac Pro 2013 ;P
     
  16. fhenry macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    #16
    yes but is it a new indication of a new mac pro !
     
  17. email4nickp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #17
    And it seems that it is all resolved with 10.8.2 supplementary update...
     

Share This Page