Is 1333MHz RAM compatible with older MPs?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by akadmon, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    I have 6-core MP coming soon to replace my 2006 1,1. I really have no use for the RAM that Apple ships the machine with. Can I stick it in my old MP? I could boost it from 12 to 14GB by replacing a couple of 1GB modules.
     
  2. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #2
    No, the 2006 uses DDR2 type RAM, you'll be getting DDR3.
     
  3. akadmon thread starter macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Oh well, I guess guess I'l have sell those sticks to OWC for $6 each. I wish Apple shipped the machine with 1GB sticks and lowered the price by $50. What a waste!
     
  4. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    Those are totally different dimms. The 1,1 used fbdimms. They're nothing alike. You should hold onto the original ram if they don't give you much for it. This will facilitate testing if you ever have troubles or think you need warranty service. That is what I do.

    edit: also I memtest ram right when I receive it and prime 95 new machines. I really do test things quite a lot.
     
  5. wallysb01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #5
    Yeah, it is kinda silly, but it is basically the minimum configuration to run the computer properly. You could probably sell those sticks on E-bay or even just through local listings, if you live in a populated area, for almost $50. Though for $18, it might be worth avoiding the hassle and just use OWC.
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    I'd recommend keeping the OEM memory until your Apple Care expires (stored safely away in the containers the new memory you plan to purchase to prevent ESD damage). That way, if you ever need to take it in, you won't risk loosing your memory upgrade (need to swap upgrades out before shipping the system back to Apple; other members have lost upgrades in the past by not doing this).

    I know it's a PITA, but it's worth the effort not to loose expensive upgrades IMHO.
     

Share This Page