Is 15% battery too much to loose overnight?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spidersonboats, Nov 11, 2011.

1. spidersonboats macrumors newbie

2011 MBP, bought in August.

When I close the lid and let it sleep over night, I have 15% less juice the next morning.

This sounds like ALOT to me...normal or not?

2. refurbished macrumors member

That is a lot. It should be around 1% every hour. So unless you slept for 15 hours that sounds like a little bit too much.

3. snaky69 macrumors 603

The MBP drains roughly 1 to 1.5% per hour of sleep, so it really depends on how long your "overnight" is.

4. rainking macrumors regular

Also is that from 100% or from 30%? Would that make a difference?

5. snaky69 macrumors 603

It shouldn't, theoretically, make any difference from what % charge the OP is starting.

6. Adamantoise macrumors 6502a

But this is not theory, strange things happen in real life.

I'm no battery expert, but ideal situations rarely hold true irl.

7. spidersonboats thread starter macrumors newbie

It lost 15% last night, from the time I closed the lid to re-opening it today.

It had 85% charge when it started.

I will test again tonight with all programs closed.

Any other possible sources of drain?

8. refurbished macrumors member

Any bluetooth devices connected to your computer? That might be it. Not sure though.

9. Kendo macrumors 68000

Turning off Siri Raise to Speak and everything in System Services in Location Services gives me less than a 1% drain every hour.

10. refurbished macrumors member

What are you talking about? Haha!

11. spidersonboats thread starter macrumors newbie

Yes, I have a bluetooth mouse...I usually turn off the mouse itself, but not the bluetooth in the MBP.

Turning things off sort of defeats the purpose of simply 'going to sleep' :)

None of this is critical obviously, but more curious.