Is 15 gigs enough for XP?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by atljogger, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. atljogger macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #1
    I need to install XP Pro SP2 on my MB pro with Boot Camp. Will 15GB's give me enough space to run Windows without getting bogged down? I need XP for Office 2007 as well as some various business software applications. Also need to install virus software, spyware protector, and Firefox. No gaming.

    Thanks,
    J
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    windows XP SP1+SP2+SP3=2.5G
    Firefox=0.05G
    Office 2007=1.5G
    System running space=1G
    extra safety=2G

    Total=7G

    Give it 10G should be more than enough for you

    Sure if you have a large HDD, 15G is perfectly reasonable.
     
  3. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #3
    you might want to use the default 32gb that bootcamp suggests, seems like you are going to be pretty active on windows. I just used 12gb but i dont run anything on windows just have it there just in case i need it one day. I use microsoft office and everything else on OSX. I'm actually surprised that i havent had to switch over at all since i was a windows user all my life, but so far OSX has filled and surpassed all my needs.
     
  4. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #4
    15 GB sounds a bit too small nowadays. If you're planning to work with large files, you'll be out of space quite soon. Your workfiles often are bigger than the system & program files.
     
  5. atljogger thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    #5
    Thanks. I am buying a copy of Windows Professional today - should I buy Service Pack 2 or 3? I don't have Windows loaded yet so wondering if anyone has had problems with a direct install of SP3 on a Macbook Pro? Again, this is primarily for use with Office 2007.
     
  6. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #6
    A lot of people actually have reported about loss in 3D performance in SP3 compared to SP2, small, but still a loss. But it seems like you aren't going to do anything 3D wise so I would say either SP2 or SP3 is ok. Personally myself, I have Windows Vista Home Premium and I actually like it compared to XP, and even has a couple features that I wish were in Mac OS X. :)
     

Share This Page