Is 16GB necessary and worth it on the 13" tMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TazmoStarkana, Nov 24, 2016.

1. TazmoStarkana, Nov 24, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016

TazmoStarkana macrumors regular

I'm a web developer and commonly work with photoshop and illustrator. I think those are the most resource demanding apps I use. The rest is the browser and certain development tools. I do not use Xcode, which I assume is resource demanding too.

I have the 13" tMBP /w 8GB and when I fire up a bunch of apps and tabs in safari, the memory usage is at 5.5-6gb. 2gb wired, 2.5gb apps. 128mb swap used.

I think 8 gB may be enough but I am worried of the future that new OS updates may be more memory demanding as well as apps. So far so good though.

Anyway is it worth for me to order a custom build with 16GB? What has your experience been like with 8 and 16 gb ram?

One thing I noticed is UI lag and staggering when swiping between full screen apps and there 3/4 finger up swipe to get a birds eye view. Is this because the 2.9GHz i5 is weak or is this something with the macOS?

--- UPDATE ---

I decided to go with 16GB from B&H using PayPal Credit (no interest and no payment for 6mo)

2. Altis macrumors 68020

While the RAM prices Apple charges are highway robbery, so is selling a laptop in 2016-2017 with 8 GB of RAM for $2000.

I'd recommend getting the RAM upgrade if you can afford it. It's likely to be the first bottleneck you encounter, causing poor performance or the need for an upgrade as you cannot upgrade it later.

The likelihood is that future MacOS and other software updates, and possibly changes to your workflow, will require more than 8 GB of RAM. It makes sense considering 8 GB of RAM was the norm 5 years ago.

Some people will undoubtedly tell you that "8 GB is perfectly fine for their needs" etc, but turn around in 2-3 years and say of course you need to buy a new computer, you only have 8 GB of RAM.

3. TazmoStarkana thread starter macrumors regular