Is 1GB worth of data enough?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JasonBourne1, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. JasonBourne1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    Im trying to find the best data plan deal for my iPad. I use 1GB for my iPhone 4, with 02, which I is always more than enough. However, I'm not sure whether ill need more for the iPad.
    Can anyone advise the best price and data plans?
     
  2. Dknelson728 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #2
    It would be easier to help if we knew what exactly you were planning on using your iPad for.
     
  3. iPhone1 macrumors 65816

    iPhone1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    As long as you don't stream video or download large files (capped at 20 MB on 3G unless you're jailbroken), 1GB should be fine for browsing and app usage.
     
  4. JasonBourne1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #4
    What everyone uses their iPad for - surfing, emailing etc.
     
  5. thompson11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #5
    That's what I do on my iPhone 4, and I use ~200mb/month (though I'm on wifi all day at work). My wife who doesn't have wifi all day uses ~350mb/mo for surfing/emailing.

    Neither of us watch video / stream music / etc.
     
  6. JasonBourne1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #6
    Why - does it make a difference if its jailbroken? (apologies for being a noob)
     
  7. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #7
    1gb is fine for that

    Put if you venture into Netflix, Hulu, etc...without Wifi, you are in trouble
     
  8. jbrady3324 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #8
    At that point, you are in trouble with just about any data plan
     
  9. MultiMediaWill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Another big trouble maker is on my iPhone I watch youtube videos in HQ on 3g using My3g.
     

Share This Page