Is 1gig of RAM enough?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TheShinyMac, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. TheShinyMac macrumors 6502a

    TheShinyMac

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #1
    My MIid 07 INtel iMac only has 1 gig of ram. Is this enough, I ordered Snow Leopard and just want to make sure.
     

    Attached Files:

    • RAM.jpg
      RAM.jpg
      File size:
      30.5 KB
      Views:
      787
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    1GB runs Snow Leopard fine but 4GB is only 100$ and will speed things a lot so I would invest on it
     
  3. model citizen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #4
    While you can get by on 1gig, I'd get some considering how cheap it is now. I've always had 2gb of RAM but in the last week have been using the same Mac with 1gb and the difference suprised me, it seems slower and locks up a lot more when running a few applications at once.
     
  4. viggen61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    More RAM is always a good thing...

    I tried 1GB in my 2006 MBP, but that was getting tiresome, waiting for memory swaps in and out. Upped it to 3GB (max), and with Snow Leopard, I'm not having any issues.

    I recommend maxing out your machine, especially if the max is 4 GB or less...

    :apple::apple:
     
  5. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    62mb of page outs over 270mb of page ins is not a good ratio-- that's 23% of the time your computer is not working efficiently. A good number to aim for is under 10-5%. I'd definitely get up to at least 2gigs of ram or 3 gigs. Depending how much vram your gpu has, I'd even go up to 4 gigs.
     
  6. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Not really. 2GB would be fine - but 4 is the sweet spot , at least for me.
     
  7. hojoon0724 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    No.
     
  8. iSpoody 1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    nooooo!
    1gig is not enough for anyone!
    at least by todays standards(OSX10.6,windows 7).
    2gig is the bare minimum to have your computer run effectively in most basic operations.
    4gig is more than enough ram for most people.
     
  9. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    lol...

    1GB of RAM is the minimum requirement for running Snow Leopard...

    So its "enough" to efficiently start up the OS and do nothing :p

    Upgrade!
     
  10. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #11
    Hi Theshiny,
    1Gb is really bellow minimum today.You need to see something like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    Pretty much everyone agrees I guesss. 4 is probably the way to go for you , mate.
     
  12. lobeyonekenobi macrumors regular

    lobeyonekenobi

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    I have a 2007 macbook, soon to be upgraded to a 27" iMac and i have 1GB of RAM and all i can say is even the simplest task is tough. even opening iTunes takes a minute or so, so in short 1GB is not enough.:(:(
     
  13. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #14
    4GB is soooo meh [​IMG]
    I'm going 8GB + 320G SSD by the end of the year,
    the only question which will come first :cool:
     
  14. SXR macrumors 6502a

    SXR

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #15
    That is going to be a pretty big investment. SSD is expansive, adding in additional 4 GB is too imo.
     
  15. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #16
    After forking out another $2.5K, it doesn't feel that much, anymore :confused::eek::p
     
  16. iSpoody 1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #17
    wowowowow!
    you fork out more for a ram and HDD upgrade than I would want to spend on a computer for the next 5 years! LOL
     
  17. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #18
    Oh noes,
    I just dumped $2.5K on a new 15" MBP,
    should have ordered 2.4i5+AG online, but had to get is ASAP,
    so I had to splurge on i7 - the only AG they carry in stores.

    Upgrades come much "cheaper" :rolleyes:
    8GB RAM is around $260
    And I hope for 25nm SSD around Christmas ≈ $500 for 320GB
     
  18. EspressoLove macrumors 6502

    EspressoLove

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #19
    But if I'll perform as I did so far, I'll be lucky to upgrade to Momentus XT :eek::cool:;)
     
  19. Astral Cars macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Location:
    St. Paul
    #20
    I can't believe no one asked the completely reasonable question of "What do you use your computer for?"

    If all you ever do is surf the internet and check your email, 1GB is fine. If you throw in some word processing sometimes or relatively simple things like that you're fine.

    If the computer is doing everything you need it to do with 1GB, I don't see much of a reason to upgrade. Snow Leopard shouldn't be more RAM hungry than Leopard.
     
  20. OGDaniel macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #21
    4 times as much RAM is definitely worth the 100 dollars. I say invest in the extra RAM, you'll be happier.
     
  21. iSpoody 1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    I always have mail and safari open, and occasionally use itunes,word and skype and my 2gb of ram is almost always maxed out
    atm with just mail and safari open my ram has a swap of 7mb out 128mb in.
    also I dont have any programs running on startup except for istat. also my mbp has the 8600m gt so that means there is no integrated gpu sucking at my ram neither.
    so with 2gb not being enough to handle basic tasks on my mbp i have no idea how 1gb can be enough in a mb with integrated gpu using the ram too.
    lol im gonna get 4gb in my mbp as soon as i ca scrap together $150. thats the cheapest you can get 4gb in Australia.
     
  22. zaffle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #23
    AUD$150? that seems pretty cheap to me!
     
  23. iSpoody 1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
    yeah its from upgradeable.com
    they also give free express postage
    every other website wants about $170-$190 plus about $15 postage
     

Share This Page