is 3.0 beta stable enough yet (for developer, but with only one device)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dccorona, Mar 21, 2009.

1. dccorona macrumors 68020

dccorona

I'm just beginning to start developing for the iPhone. I don't have any apps out yet, and I'm very new to the developing scene (not the iPhone though)

I've been watching all the 3.0 threads so far, but none have seemed to be geared toward someone with my question, only towards those only using 3.0 because they are impatient

I would love to be able to start coding in 3.0, as access to the new API's sounds like it would give me more options in my apps

BUT I'm still hesitant, because I don't have a test device. My iPhone is my only one, and it is, of course, also my phone. I can't afford for it to not work

So I'm looking for some input as to wether or not 3.0 is stable enough for me to use on my only phone, of if sticking to coding for 2.2.1 is best for me right now (I know I could code for 3.0 without using a test device and only the simulator, but I want to be able to test on an actual phone, so that won't work)

2. elbirth macrumors 65816

If you need the phone to function as a phone, send text messages, and maybe send/receive email, then yes 3.0 is perfectly fine to use on your primary phone.

The problems with the beta so far generally come in the form of a slight lag in responsiveness and various glitches here and there (maybe a keyboard won't resize when going into landscape mode, etc).

If you can put up with a few glitches that really only hinder the cool factor of the iPhone and not the very basic functionality (although the basics are lagged a little for now), it's safe to put on there. I have it on my only iPhone and although it can get annoying since it's not "smooth as butter" all the time, there's nothing basic in terms of phone calls and email that I simply cannot do.

3. Mikey B macrumors 65816

Mikey B