Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ray Randall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2007
I'm new to MacRumors and its forums so please excuse any gafs that I might make with my first post. I'm about to purchase 17" MacBook Pro Core 2 and wondered about the need for 3 GB Ram. I'm a professional wedding photographer and use Photoshop. I've been told by many that 2 GB should be more than enough (most of my files are 2MB when taken and up to 20MB after tweaking). I don't video edit but am planning to make use of Parallels/Windows aspect with some photo programs. With my current Mac (17" iMac), I purchased as much ram as it could hold but recently have found that I just get by and hence the need for the upgrade. Any other purchase suggestions (accessories, bags, etc.) and concerns that you could pass on would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

RayRandall

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I'm new to MacRumors and its forums so please excuse any gafs that I might make with my first post. I'm about to purchase 17" MacBook Pro Core 2 and wondered about the need for 3 GB Ram. I'm a professional wedding photographer and use Photoshop. I've been told by many that 2 GB should be more than enough (most of my files are 2MB when taken and up to 20MB after tweaking). I don't video edit but am planning to make use of Parallels/Windows aspect with some photo programs. With my current Mac (17" iMac), I purchased as much ram as it could hold but recently have found that I just get by and hence the need for the upgrade. Any other purchase suggestions (accessories, bags, etc.) and concerns that you could pass on would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

RayRandall