Is 512GB SSD enough in my new 27 inch iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ironicles, Dec 10, 2015.

1. ironicles macrumors newbie

Hi all, I'm a video editor who is really excited to get my iMac!

Going to be getting it specced to the max (i7 4Ghz, m395x, OWC 64GB RAM, etc.) I'm also going to be getting a separate RAID5 storage (most likely OWC's Thunderbay 4 at around 12 TB) to store all my raw files, renders, exports, etc.

My question is, should I go with 1TB SSD inside, or go with 512GB? It's a $500 difference and I'm already going to be having a lot of space in the Thunderbay. It's been awhile since I've upgraded my old iMac so I just want to be sure I'm not making a mistake since I can't change it once I get it.

I'll be working with 4k footage often, 3d files, etc. My gut tells me 512GB should be enough (as I'll only be using the internal for applications and the like), but I'd love to hear your thoughts! Any other tips I should know as far as how to best go about setting up my system for Premiere/After effects optimal performace as it pertains to hard drives and SSDs?

Thanks everyone :)

2. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

Sirmausalot

I can
    I can't imagine you'll need 64tbsp ram. But absolutely get the 1TB Abram drive for optimal performance

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

If you'll be having an external drive array, I don't see the need for a 1TB SSD drive, seems like over kill to me.

4. twilexia, Dec 10, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015

twilexia macrumors 6502

You're already spending a ridiculous amount, what's a few hundred more to you?

5. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

Sirmausalot