Is 8gb enough to run Mavericks

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by jmanley1, Oct 11, 2013.

  1. jmanley1 macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #1
    A few caveats...

    I have a 21.5" Mid 2011 iMac with 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5. My main uses are as follows.

    • Heavy web browsing
    • Streaming video
    • DVD playing
    • Some writing

    Have had 8gb for over a year (2gb sticks x4) and haven't looked back. Just wondering if maybe I shouldn't at least think about getting 16gb or will 8gb be sufficient.
     
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    8GB sounds like it's enough for your uses. Best suggestion is see how your system performs after you install Mavericks and then decide on the memory.
     
  3. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  4. bwat47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    #4
    I do all the things you listed fine on mavericks with 4gb ram.
     
  5. jmanley1 thread starter macrumors member

    jmanley1

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
  6. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    hahahaha 16 gb for heavy web browsing? HAHAHAHAHAH. Thanks for that :)

    8GB is definitely enough, if not overkill for that usage.
     
  7. jtfolden macrumors 6502

    jtfolden

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, Ohio
    #7
    I'm running on 4GB in the system listed in my sig and 10.9 actually feels much better than 10.8 did... much smoother.
     
  8. chennylou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #8
    My mac has been running with around 2gb free...lags sometimes due to heavy safari use
     
  9. Phazer macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    I'm running Mavericks on the MBP in my signature.
    Running fine, and I'm using Logic Pro X and Pro Tools 10/11 on it, as well as web browsing.
     
  10. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #10
    You could get by fine with 4GB. You have to be working with media files (audio, video or images) before the computer needs a bunch of RAM.

    The best way to see if RAM is needed is to look at Apple's Activity Meter. You shoud have it on your Mac right now in /Application/utilities If you typically are low on RAM or you see any "page outs" then you can use more RAM. If none of that is happing more RAM will not do much.
     
  11. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    4gb is totally ok. My girlfriend just got a 2013 mba with 4g and I put Mav GM on it and it runs great. She does what you describe.
     

Share This Page