Is a 15" MBP Enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mark-itguy, May 17, 2007.

  1. mark-itguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #1
    [Although this question is general, it is assuming my purchase will not be until after the MBP updates in a few weeks, whatever the updates are.]

    Back in the day, I had a PowerMac MDD DP 1.42 GHz, and amoung other things, did a lot of video editing with Final Cut Express 2.0. Also a lot of video converting, but no high end Photoshop. When I needed a laptop for work, I bought a 12" PowerBook G4 1.33 GHz. While not a whimpy laptop back then, I never considered even trying to run FCE on it.

    Now I am Mac-less, and have been waiting a few months for updates, and to try to decide on a strategy. Should I buy a MacBook for work, and a Mac Pro for home, [couldn't really afford, would have to go on a CC]. Or would a 15" MacBook Pro be enough for both homw and work? At work I'd hardley tac it, but at home I'd like to get back into FCE. Would a MacBook Pro feel about as fast as my old PowerMac with apps like FCE? Or would any laptop be pokey enough that either an iMac or Mac Pro would be required?

    Any comments would help! I think maybe I have my head stuck in that old school idea that laptops are for using Word & surfing, while you need a desktop for real heavy work...
     
  2. ezzie macrumors 68020

    ezzie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #2
    i don't know about FCE, but i'm running CS3 on a Core Duo MBP 15" with 2 GB of RAM, and i don't have a single problem. i do some pretty intensive graphics work, too.

    i'd bet you would do alright with a new MBP. but i'm sure some FCE experts will chime in shortly and give you the scoop!
     
  3. nep61 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    #3
    15" MBP is Enough !


    I May not be an Expert...but I've been using Final Cut Pro v5.1 for a while now on a 15" PB 1.25GHz with 2GB RAM with a G-Raid FW800 Drive --Not A MBP-- and with FC running and maybe iPhoto and Safari... My trusty 'ol PowerBook hangs tough. The worst part is the render time with some multi layered FX... but otherwise no complaints, it gets the job done...so to answer your question... yeah the MacBook Pro can handle FC Express & more, as long as you get as much RAM as you can afford.

    I jumped from 1GB to 2 GB RAM and saw big improvements in rendering etc...
    Hope this helps
     
  4. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Photoshop on a C2D MBP with only 1GB RAM and 128MB graphics here, and extremely acceptable performance, especially compared to my iBook G4 before. :)
     
  5. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    I wouldn't mind going with the 15" MBP, but the program I use at work uses a 1280 x 1024 minimum screen resolution, anything less and it chops the bottom of the menus off making it hard to use. The 17" MBP has been used by many people running the same program (which is a Windows only program BTW) at speeds far superior to many similar Windows based machines. I design jewelry for a living and they say the Macs render at incredible speeds.

    I was also told by a gentleman at a local store that all the MBP's are capable of running Final Cut, but he suggested going with the 2.33ghz 17" with the 100GB Hard Drive as it is a faster drive and would render video much quicker. All I know is I want this waiting game to be over already!
     
  6. SpaceJello macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #6
    I have the 17" for FC, i do suggest getting an external drive though for your editing as well, and not rely on the mbp for purely editing.
     
  7. Masher500 macrumors member

    Masher500

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    Dana Point
    #7
    its good

    I have final cut studio, and do some light photoshop stuff, encode video, and then run bootcamp and play bf2. It works good, maybe not as fast as a mac pro, but it doesn the job just as well as my windows desktop which was a pentium d 3.0. Oh and i have a 23' hp monitor. with a 1.5tb drive and another 320gig external. Although i editi DV for now, a MBP can edit HDV no prob.
     
  8. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  9. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    I have a MBP 2.33Ghz with 3GB ram. Most of what I do is 3D art and animation and it works well on my MBP. I do have FCE and there's no problem using it.
     
  10. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #10
    I'm running FCP5.1 on a 1GHz PowerBook, 1GB RAM with no problems whatsoever. Okay, render times are horribly slow but it gets the job done. CS2 runs smoothly too.
     
  11. seany916 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    we do a LOT of FCP editing on MBPs. slower, but no problems.

    If you'd rather have 2 computers, get the low end MBP w/ a Mac Pro.

    If you'd rather have 1, then get the fastest MBP with the largest HD.

    Either way, you'll need an external HD.

    If you're doing a lot of editing, Mac Pro. If only occasionally, then MBP.

    Rather than have 1 or 2 speedy computers, we use 3 slow to mediocre ones and while one is rendering, we move to another computer/workstation to work on a different project. It works for us because we're never tied up waiting on rendering, but it might not be an acceptable compromise for others.
     
  12. kajitox macrumors 6502a

    kajitox

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #12
    I'd say don't spend money you don't have, first off. I would probably go for the MacBook Pro, since thus far nobody says it can't handle it; just get more RAM and definitely an external hard drive.
     
  13. majordude macrumors 68020

    majordude

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Location:
    Hootersville
    #13
    The MBP 15" is perfect if you are young. For $250 more, those over 38 can see all the dredge on Drudge on a 17" screen.
     

Share This Page