Is a macbook right for me? (Yes, another one lol)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Abisco, Apr 18, 2011.

1. Abisco, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011

Abisco macrumors newbie

Hi there,
    I'm currently a computer science student at the University of Toronto, and after going through my first year with my HP Pavillion dv6000 I have to say that I need a new laptop. My current one is admittedly slow at times when running some programs I write, and I feel like I'm fighting with Vista way too often for it to do something...

Anyways, my parents recently got a $1,200 voucher for any laptop at Best buy, and I've been contemplating what laptop to get for school next year, though we don't mind putting down more money for a laptop if it is a lot better! It's important I get the best laptop that is available for my needs. I guess its almost important to note that I take an hour and a half commute everyday, so doing work on my lap would be useful.

The laptop will mostly be used for programming, some gaming, web surfing, and watching a lot of videos. I will be using my laptop A LOT, and as such need something which is fast, comfortable, and doesn't give me too many problems. I currently have an xbox360 but I plan on selling it soon too, so gaming on my laptop will be important... I dont need the best graphics, but I do want to be able to play upcoming games such as Mass Effect 3, Elder Scrolls Skyrim, Guild wars 2, and the likes. But yeah, I guess in general gaming is pretty important to me, especially if this will be my main gaming device.

I was looking at the High end 15'' for a while, given that I must pick a laptop from (Canadian) Best buy, it seems like that laptop is the best for gaming, portability, and overall productivity! Though I have never had a macbook, but from what I hear it isn't hard to get used to it.

Anyone can give me any more information on whether I should get this laptop, or something else?