Is a MBA 13' 8GB Worth It?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by LaynieGorilla, Jun 25, 2014.

1. LaynieGorilla macrumors 6502

I recently purchased a MBA 13' 4GB ram, 256GB storage to return it in fifteen minuted for the rMBP 8GB 256 GB. I love the retina display of the pro but I also shyed away from the Air because I thought it was going to be an underpowered, slow computer from reading the specs.

The price difference is several hundred dollars between the two and I am unsure as to why if it really was worth to get the air after seen that most people have no problems with the air.

I have spent hours researching on google but still am not sure:

I am a grad student so most of my time I will be writing, creating presentations and using the internet. Non-school wise I'd like to watch movies, listen to music, maybe occasionally do photo shop, open many tabs in browser and have maybe 5-7 programs/files open at once. I also like the play games on yahoo or MSN.

Is a Macbook pro overkill? What type of people benefit from a MacBook Pro?MacBook Air? I like retina but that won't be my sole reason for picking which computer I want before the return date. A sluggish computer or a computer that will get sluggish overtime is not something that I want.

Thanks!

2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

T5BRICK

Probably.

People who need a high resolution screen and more than 1 Thunderbolt port.

People who need a very portable computer with great battery life.

They're both good choices. If you like the rMBP, I'd suggest keeping it. If you feel like you need something lighter with better battery life, get the MBA. I've been eyeing the 13" 1.7GHz/8GB/512GB model in the refurb store.

3. Meister Suspended

Meister

The main difference between the air and retina is better battery and portability vs better display.

4. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

556fmjoe