Is a Powebook G4 12" for $635 worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zer0tails, Jan 6, 2009.

1. zer0tails macrumors 65816

zer0tails

There is a used powerbook for sale with the following specs 1.5Ghz 1.25gb, 80gb, Super Drive, AirPort, BlueTooth, OS X 10.4 - 90 Day Warranty at my local computer shop.

Currently, I am without a laptop and could use one. I am considering either this or a refurb macbook pro 2.5 which is considerably more powerful. However, the 12" powerbook is the perfect size.

My question is, since this is pretty old technology, is it worth the price at all? Am i better off putting that 600 dollars towards a macbook? And considering there's the chance it might fail within a year. I also would like to run leopard on it, could it handle that? I've never used a powerbook before, only came to mac after the intel switch so I would appreciate any advice.

much thanks,

zer0tails

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Put the money towards a MacBook, as a MacBook in real world testing will be at least 3-4 times faster. If you want something lighter, the MacBook Air is selling for $1000 refurbished and the MacBook Air will be several times faster than the PowerBook as well.

3. DaveDaveDave macrumors member

Don't do it. This hardware won't even be supported by the next release of OS X this spring. Look at what you get for $350 more refurbished...
    http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/macbook
    (I won't even point out the apple credit card offer on the side-bar ;) )

Dave

4. Pees330 macrumors 6502

I would put that money towards a refurbished Macbook. A Macbook would last you for years to come.

5. Macman756 macrumors 6502a

Macman756