Is a RAM upgrade worth it.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Avizzv92, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. Avizzv92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #1
    I purchased a Macbook this time last year, I was wondering is upgrading from 1gb of RAM too 2gb of RAM would make a noticeable difference in my computers performance. I never upgraded anything else so what I have now is what it came with.

    I was looking into purchasing 2 of these if it is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233049
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    The move from 1GB to 2GB would probably good for you
    You should see some significant performance increases

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  3. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #3
    Also is the RAM I mentioned up above a good selection? I was hoping to eventually get 2gb as I do play a few games on my Mac and every little bit can help. Plus if it helps running other demanding applications I'm all for it.
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  5. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #5
    I suppose for 10 dollars less might aswell get 4gb...
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    No my friend; it's $10 less after the rebate :D

    Actually make that $17, because with the former you have to pay for shipping twice (for 2 items), and this only once.
     
  7. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #7
    When it upgrading the RAM not worth it? Go go go.
     
  8. Aj2488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    #8
    Definitely do it. I upgraded my MBP to 2 GB this past spring and its amazing how much faster my programs work and open up. I went through crucial.com they have a pretty cool tool to look at your laptop and get you exactly what you need. For the 2 - 1 GB cards i think it was $45 and that included shipping.

    Good luck!
     
  9. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #9
    lol, I just saw that I made that mistake and was even happier... :p
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    When RAM used to cost $300
     
  11. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #11
    by all means go and upgrade the ram. I upgraded my MacBook from 1GB to 4GB, performance went thru the roof. The whole OS was hella faster than before.
     
  12. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #12

    And? If it doesn't anymore then that statement becomes well, irrelevant.
     
  13. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #13
    Thankfully this is no longer the case. I'm going to bump my MacBook from 1GB to 2GB, and it'll only set me back $40. However I do strongly remember paying $170 for the same type (and amount) of RAM in 2006. :p

    Buy more RAM, you'll be glad you did, your system is sure to get a nice speed boost.
     
  14. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #14
    Now I read that static electricity can be a possible threat when upgrading the ram, would it be worth my effort too stop at radio shack and get a anti-static wrist band for $5? Lol, paranoid maybe, but rather pay $5 and be safe then ruin a 1k computer...
     
  15. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #15
    I have never used one in all my years of repairing computers, sure call me reckless, but I've had no issues. Just discharge yourself of any static electricity before installing the RAM. Any guide online will tell you this, just take care and you'll be fine. :)
     
  16. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #16

    I've upgraded the RAM on countless machines without a wriststrap and no logics have been fried. I have yet to hear of any damage caused my static electricity when upgrading memory.
     
  17. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #17
    Ok, I have upgraded multiple parts on Desktops before with no problem, but just making sure.
     
  18. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #18
    the apple support page on upgrading ram says to touch a metal part on the computer before touching the ram, to discharge any static electricity.
     
  19. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
  20. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #21
    Because any type of computer can't even turn on without it :p
     
  21. *Sandy* macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Always in a path of a Hurricane!
    #22
    Last macbook i had 4G of ramm, just bought another and adding just 2 :)
     
  22. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #23
    If you bought the Macbook this time last year then it will only be able to use about 3.25gb out of that 4gb RAM. But still worth it over 2gb for nearly the same price :cool:

    I'm assuming you have a 2ghz or 2.16ghz Core 2?
     
  23. Avizzv92 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #24
    I have a Intel Core 2 Duo with I think 2.4GHz... I'm not sure it says 2ghz on the "About This Mac Page" But I'm positive it's 2.something... How can I find out the exact amount?

    To be honest my guessing was off a bit, turns out I bought it December 15, 2007.... (Okay it way off....)

    Now If I got it that day would I be able too use 4gb?
     
  24. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #25
    It is a 2.4, it can support up to 4GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page