Is activation needed before selling a new iPhone 3GS?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iderdik, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. iderdik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #1
    I'm eligible for an iPhone 3GS upgrade but my brother is not. (we are on separate plans). What I'd like to do is upgrade my phone and then give it to him for his birthday and just keep my current 3G as is.

    My question is: Do i need to activate the phone under my account first (via iTunes) after I get it in the mail? (The AT&T rep who was handling the upgrade said something about the phone coming activated on my account.)

    Ideally, I'd like to just give it to him unopened but I need to make sure that my service on the current 3G will not be interrupted. And will he be able to activate it on his account even though it was an upgrade on my account?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Goodeye macrumors 6502a

    Goodeye

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #2
    Activate it with your sim (if it's not already activated) if you can use it with your sim card in it without plugging it into your computer as soon as you get it, then it's already activated. Then all you have to do is put his sim card in.
     
  3. iderdik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #3
    Just to be clear (can you tell I'm a noob :)? ) When I get the new GS, put in my SIM card, try making a call to see if its activated and if it is, just put in his sim card and he's good to go (no iTunes syncing necessary)? And my curent iPhone3G will continue to work fine with all my data and phonen umber once I reinsert my sim?
     
  4. iderdik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    #5
    Thanks!!!
     
  5. crpercodani macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #6
    But when you get a new iPhone you need to activate it through iTunes. Unless the process is different since you currently have a iPhone, but I don't think it is. Either way since you will be unboxing it try just doing the SIM first and if it doesn't activate then you will need to sync with iTunes to activate.
     

Share This Page