Is AMD enough power? (Photo / Video)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BJB Productions, Oct 16, 2014.

1. BJB Productions macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

I've been waiting two years for a retina iMac. I was so happy to see that it finally came. Now everyone is scaring me off with worries and complaints about the AMD being underpowered. I do not want to buy a brand new machine that will be underpowered. I am a photographer / filmmaker so the machine will be heavily used with Adobe apps.

I know Adobe's support for AMD is spotty so acceleration might not work very well. I also know that OpenCL is kinda broken from what I've heard.

Thoughts?

2. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

Going to have to wait for benchmarks but my gut says getting the CTO i7/295x would be a must have for this display.

3. Georgio macrumors 6502

Georgio

2GB is laughable for the standard configuration GPU, try editing video on that and you're going to be disappointed.

I'm so disappointed right now that they didn't go with the 980m.

4. AppleDroid macrumors 6502a

Also would have appreciated a bump in specs to the non-retina iMacs. Really I don't *need* a 5k iMac but a 4Ghz/295x 1440p would have been great.

5. BJB Productions thread starter macrumors 65816

BJB Productions

Currently I get by editing on a Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB / AMD Radeon HD 6490M
    so anything will be better than that.

6. Kayan macrumors 6502

Same here. If they updated the internals on the older iMacs, I'd buy one immediately.

7. paolo- macrumors 6502a

I'd wait for benchmarks. IMHO, it'll be fine for photography and 1080p editing. If it can give you any bearings, the rMBP with it's 750m can drive at least a 4k display at the same time as a 1440p screen on top of it's internal display (1600p). The amd 290x is a significantly better GPU. I wouldn't worry about the GPU driving the screen, I'd worry about it having enough extra horsepower to drive other things.

8. joema2 macrumors 65816

joema2