Is an iPad worth it?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by npdale, Apr 19, 2014.

1. npdale macrumors member

Hey, so this is a question that's been buzzing in my head - I used to have an iPad 1... my wife has an iPad3... I use a macbook pro for pretty much everything... I'm rarely without it - I'm a DOP and photographer and I also have an iPhone 5, so I'm looking for peoples opinions on where they think an iPad would fit into my life :)... sounds odd but I'm interested to hear peoples opinions and how they use their own in conjunction with other devices such as a laptop etc.

One use I can see is as a possible portfolio display for images.. so another question would be -- is a mini large enough for this purpose?

Thanks guys - look forward to the discussion

2. carjakester macrumors 68020

carjakester

ive also thought about having an iPad for reviewing photos/videos but never got the adapter. I could imagine a mini would be perfect for that. If you aren't sure whether you'll like having one give your wives iPad a go and see for yourself.

For me i have an iPad 4 and an iPad mini. My 4 used to be my go to but with the size of the mini i think it is perfect. My 4 just sits on the couch and i use it to airplay videos to my apple tv which it does just fine, my mini i bring with me to school to take notes as well as have at my bed to watch tv or browse the internet etc.

3. moonman239 macrumors 68000

You could buy Photoshop or iPhoto for the iPad, or use the iPad to show pictures.

My suggestion is to go ahead and buy the iPad. Assuming you don't damage it, you have 30 days to return it.

4. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

teknikal90

i find that the ipad replaces my computer for most 'home' stuff
    i used to spend a lot of time in front of my computer on my computer desk doin 'home' stuff ie. facebook, listening to music, reading the news, emailing, paying bills, banking, youtube...etc etc.