Is anyone else having migrations issues???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by drbob20, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. drbob20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    Just curious if anyone else is having migrations issues. Got a new Imac and trying to "migrate" from my old Imac, which is also Intel, however with lack of FW 400 the job has not and continues to not work. I tried over the network but that show 19+ hours and stalled out. I tried to migrate from a bootable external HD but none of my passwords or settings transferred over (I think they're supposed with migration). Has anyone had this issue or does anyone have any recommendations? Oh, I also tried with an ethernet X-over cable and that didn't seem to get me anywhere either.

    Regards!!!
     
  2. jw2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #2
    No problem on my end, and both times I used an ethernet cable. It took probably 3 hours to xfer 100 GB worth of data and settings. Also, no need for a cross-over cable. All Apple products since like 1999 or so have had smart enough ethernet cards to detect computer-to-computer ethernet connections.
     
  3. drbob20 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    Thank you for the reply. I've since "migrated" using my bootable back up HD, worked flawlessly:)
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I transferred my data (mostly music, videos and photos) from external HD. It took 30 minutes to transfer 50GBs via USB.
     
  5. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #5
    Cool that you got it xferred over I usually just do ethernet as well
     
  6. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #6
    Did you "migrate" or just copy? it makes a big difference.
     

Share This Page