Is anyone successfully using 7GB in a 2010 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yadmonkey, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. yadmonkey macrumors 65816

    yadmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Western Spiral
    #1
    The Macs: Two 3.33GHz 6-core "Westmere" Mac Pros. 4 memory slots each.

    Memory: Each MP came with 3 x 1GB chips and an empty slot. Because mixing RAM is technically possible with this Mac Pro model, I ordered two 4GB chips from OWC with the intention of installing one in each for a total of 7GB in each machine.

    Result: No Go. If I put the 4GB chip into the 4th slot, the computer reads only the first two chips for a total of 2GB. Same result on both machines. If I put the 4GB chip in the first slot, it won't boot at all. If I put in one or both 4GB chips by themselves, the machine will boot just fine and recognize all of the RAM.

    OWC says: Must be a timing issue. Return the chips for replacement. My gut tells me that the same thing will happen with the replacement chips.

    So does anyone use this particular memory configuration successfully? Am I missing something here or should I do the RMA? Or should I order two more 4GB chips for 8GB in each machine and take the rebate on the 1GB chips?

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    14 GB RAM worked in mine. I think 2+2+2+1 won't be a problem. Only, you won't benefit anymore from the triple channel speed. However, this is barely noticeable. Strange that 1+1+1+4 didn't work.
    If you have such a fast Mac, why not order 3x4 GB RAM?
     
  3. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Not quite your situation but: I can run my 2010 quad 3.2 on 13GB RAM by putting the 3 4GB OWC 1333 sticks in slots 1, 2 and 3 and then adding one of the Apple original 1GB 1333 sticks in slot 4.
     
  4. yadmonkey thread starter macrumors 65816

    yadmonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Western Spiral
    #4
    Thanks to you both for your feedback. It's good just to know that anyone is having success with mixing OWC and factory RAM. With that info, I might return those chips for replacements after all. Also, I think I'll go with 2x4GB after all and see if it works with that and two Apple chips.
     

Share This Page