Is Aperture stable enough?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by chriscorbin, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. chriscorbin macrumors 6502

    chriscorbin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    #1
    OK I love aperture, i have been using it from 1.0 and never regretted it, till now. I wanted to edit some photos i took today and i launched aperture, my library is on a external HD, a USB 2.0 thing, and i have a vault on a firewire drive in a safe place. well it said my library had a database inconsistency or something of that nature, so i tried to let it recover the files and it kept getting stuck, so i get the firewire drive out of my safe and try to restore from the vault and the same thing happens, so long story short i am screwed and i wanted to rant about it and share my pain with the internet.

    I already sent a angry e-mail to apple.

    bottom line. I do not think the aperture library option is stable enough for professional use, do you agree if not why?
     
  2. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #2
    If I were to buy a pro app and then had problems with it, personally I'd have contacted the vendor and tried to work with them to resolve the problem before embarking on a flame fest. With a pro app I expect pro support.

    Not knowing anything about how you manage your computer, what your history has been with software, etc., it's hard to really argue one way or the other. All I can say is I've had no problems with Aperture or its database - I'm a happy camper.
     
  3. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    i haven't had a problem either. have you been backing up your vaults and taking the right backup precautions? that should be a no brainer without-thinking type of action just in case any software or hardware glitches happen b/c unfortunately, they do (and usually at the wrong times too).

    good luck,
    Keebler
     
  4. OreoCookie macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Location:
    Sendai, Japan
    #4
    I have never had a problem with Aperture. I have two vaults on two harddrives, so that even if one of them is hosed, I still have a backup. Yesterday, I had a small problem, it said one of my vaults was faulty, but I simply retried and it worked fine.
     
  5. OttawaGuy macrumors 6502a

    OttawaGuy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #5
    Try rebuilding your Aperture database by holding command-option while launching Aperture. A dialog will come up asking if you want to rebuild your library.
     
  6. RevToTheRedline macrumors 6502a

    RevToTheRedline

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #6
    The latest version of Aperture seems to be stable for me.

    But I honestly have to ask what all the hype is with Aperture, coming from the point of view of a photographer, I don't find it to be that great.
     
  7. woodsey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    #7
    I cant believe how unstable Aperture is on my MacBook Pro. At the moment im trying to crop a bunch of photos, and it crashes about every 5 minutes.
     
  8. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #8
    Hmm. It sounds like you need to repair permissions and verify the disk. I have never had issues with Aperture on my MBP (and I'm crunching 16MB RAWs and 70 MB Tiffs on a daily basis).
     
  9. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #9
    I have a hard time believing it as well - I've never had Aperture crash on me. There has to be something else going on with your computer.
     
  10. chriscorbin thread starter macrumors 6502

    chriscorbin

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    #10
    This happens to me as well, one of the reasons I now use bridge and camera raw for my all of my stuff.

    and i am religious about repairing permissions and other system maintenance

    why does apple sell a top of the line laptop that can't run aperture at a decent speed
     
  11. Super Macho Man macrumors 6502a

    Super Macho Man

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #11
    More like why does Apple sell a photo database that can't run on a top of the line laptop at a decent speed? Aperture has got to be the slowest app in the world for what it's intended to do. Hopefully the reason Apple fired the dev team a while back and there hasn't been a release since then is because they scrapped it and started over. Great ideas, great interface, poor technical execution.
     
  12. redrabbit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #12
    fired the team? what? was this after 1.5 or 1.0?
     
  13. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #13
    Apple did not fire anyone on the Aperture team. They moved developers from the Motion group over to Aperture to get 1.5 out the door. Then, those extra developers returned back to the Motion group after 1.5 was released.

    Aperture's Product Manager (whose name escapes me at the moment) is very active over at Apple's support forums. Actually, that board continues to remain very helpful and active compared to many of Apple's other boards.
     
  14. woodsey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    #14
    Yeah, i'm guessing there is something wrong with my computer that is causing Aperture to crash so consistently. Not only does it crash constantly, but sometimes it takes over 10 minutes for the program to start up, and doing so pretty much brings the rest of the system to a halt.

    I must stress that once I get aperture running (and it doesn't randomly decide to crash), it runs really well. So I'm not complaining about the speed of the app (like a lot of other people out there) im complaining about the stability.

    However, I do repair the disk and verify permissions regularly. This doesn't seem to have any effect on how well aperture runs. I've also rebuilt my library database, but this also had no effect on how the app ran. I havent had any consistent problems with any other apps crashing or the operating system in general, so this seems to be an aperture specific problem.

    I have a library of about 25,000 2-3mb .jpgs. Is this to many?
     
  15. RevToTheRedline macrumors 6502a

    RevToTheRedline

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #15
    Aperture 1.5.4 seems to be pretty stable for me so far. I haven't had much time in it. I'm still trying to learn what I really need it for that Photoshop and Nikon Capture NX can't do

    What do you people that use it really use it for?
     
  16. redrabbit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #16
    Metadata, sorting, catologuing, exporting, archiving, non-destructive editing
     

Share This Page