Is Apple ever gonna optimize Field Test app?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by rpetunderclass, Feb 3, 2016.

  1. sanke1 macrumors 65816

    sanke1

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #2
    Probably not.

    I am grateful it has received iOS 7 style make-up at least.
     
  2. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Has anyone else submitted a bug report that it doesn't work on a 6s? I have, and never heard back.
     
  3. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Field test works on my 6s+.
     
  4. mariusignorello macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #5
    More often than not its used for non public-facing reasons so no, probably not.
     
  5. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #6
    The Field Test app's capabilities have been updated, but not its GUI. I'd been using the "Nokia Code" for over 20 years - starting on Nokia Symbian S40 and S60 handsets - in order to get optimized cell reception (voice and data) in remote job sites in the PNW - one of the last service challenges of cell phone service in the US. I'm from NY, and I'm pretty sure I can fit Delaware or Rhode Island in any of the remaining 20-odd holes in cell service around the PNW. The app can identify and quantify current data/information, data/information that the FT app couldn't detect even a year ago.

    I know that the iPhone app's capabilities have been updated since it's able to quantify HSPDA-, LTE-, and CDMA-related data - I use both VZW and ATTWS handsets, and check for tower/antenna ID info and data capabilities at all of my job sites. In one project location (Wahkiakum County, WA), I was able to determine just last week the "voice" layers and "data" layers over LTE - the GUI of the Field Test app is irrelevant - It. Just. Works.
     
  6. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    Pics for proof. You would be the only one I've seen that can view bandwidth and not get a crazy LTE band. 6/6+ work fine, S devices don't.
     

Share This Page