Is Apple out of the Display Business?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by graphicimage, Jan 21, 2010.

1. graphicimage macrumors newbie

I have been waiting years now to buy a 30" monitor but have been waiting to see what Apple comes up with to replace the aging 30" monitor. Is it going to be glossy? Is it going to be higher res? Larger for the same price? It has been way too long, if they were out I would just move on to NEC or something. I have to act soon but none of the major brands have introduced anything new in years either... what's next for larger monitors? Do I wait a little longer?

I am a Photographer and Graphic Designer and am looking for a high end 30" monitor. I almost bought the NEC for around $2000 but felt Apple was about to upset the market again... that was a year ago and once again the rumors are based on gadgets and updating existing gadgets... are they out of the high end monitor business?

I wondered if the newer models would be higher res, sharper and have better color control but all I hear is touch screen and something unsubstantiated about higher resolution.

Any suggestions, insight or hunches would be welcome. Thanks.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

I have a feeling you're going to be waiting a while.

3. steve2112 macrumors 68040

steve2112

I also think you will be waiting a while. The 30" has been woefully neglected. I believe if they do anything with the displays in the future, it will mirror the new iMacs with 21.5" and 27" displays. No telling when or if this will ever happen, though.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

The ADCs is probably the least updated product apple sells. MacPros, Minis both have long update cycles but the ADC seems to languish for years without any updates from apple.