Is appshopper reliable to send push notifications for updates on your owned list?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Dragoro, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #1
    Be nice if I didn't have to constantly check the app store.
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    Yes. So much so that I disabled it for my own because it was getting annoying.
     
  3. Dragoro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
  4. anthonymoody macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    #4
    I would <3 Appshopper much more if you didn't have to create your owned-apps list manually. It's a total PITA IMO. I have many scores of apps and can't be bothered to do this. I'd even pay something for this feature.

    It may be an Apple sandbox issue - apps may not be allowed to examine the app directory. If not though, I think this is a must-add feature for the app..
     
  5. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #5
    Supposedly, there's an Importer for Appshopper, but myself and many others can't seem to get it to work with our logins. If they fix it, I'm very interested in trying it out.
     
  6. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #6
    One bad thing about AppShopper if you're outside the US is that it takes any price changes from the US Appstore. Even if you've set the Country/Currency to UK/GBP.

    I only noticed this last month when it told me that one of my watched apps (Monopoly) was on sale. It was only on sale in the US, not in the UK. :mad:

    I've been in touch with the dev and apparently this is being fixed some time soon(ish).
     
  7. Tilpots macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #7
    Just wanted to note I finally got the Appshopper Importer to work. I don't know what changed but I gave it a go tonight and it found all my apps. Pretty cool stuff.
     
  8. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    In the very first version of App Shopper when you would click on "Buy Now" it would auto put that app in your owned list. They have removed that feature - I wish they would bring it back.
     
  9. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I feel the pain. I've used App shopper a lot to look for apps, but I've never bought a thing using their affiliate link. So I have to add stuff manually. Gets annoying sometimes.
     
  10. ssdeg7 macrumors 6502a

    ssdeg7

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #10
    I had to disable alerts because every half an hour I received notifications from AppShopper and it got annoying.
     
  11. Cod3rror macrumors 68000

    Cod3rror

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #11
    Sorry to TTT this old thread but AppShopper push notifications have stopped working on my iPhone...

    I don't get any badges or notifications, then I go into the app, it refreshes and there is suddenly some new updates or price changes.

    How are your notifications working?
     

Share This Page